Prairie City

The Story of an American Community
Author: Angie Debo
Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press
ISBN: 9780806130941
Category: History
Page: 254
View: 8222
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Prairie City is the social history of a representative midwestern town - a composite of several Oklahoma small towns. Beginning with the "one flashing moment" of the 1889 land run, which opened the "Oklahoma Lands" for white settlement, Angie Debo depicts the struggles of the settlers on the vast prairie to build a community despite seasons of drought, prairie fire, and destitution. Solidly based on historical research, Prairie City chronicles the arrival of the railroad, the growth of political parties and educational institutions, KKK uprisings, the oil boom, the Depression and the New Deal, and the effects of two world wars on small-town America.

Where the Wind Blows


Author: Caroline Fyffe
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9781612187129
Category: Fiction
Page: 283
View: 4468
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Cowboy Chase Logan has been in plenty of touchy situations, but pretending to be the husband of a recent widow and father to her adopted children is the most difficult job he's had yet. Original.

Before the Larkspur Blooms


Author: Caroline Fyffe
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9781612187136
Category: Fiction
Page: 281
View: 4958
DOWNLOAD NOW »
After spending eight years in prison for a crime he didn't commit, Thomas Donovan returns home to the windswept prairies of Wyoming hoping to find a second chance at life and only to discover a second chance at love.

Five Days Left


Author: Julie Lawson Timmer
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 0698140869
Category: Fiction
Page: 352
View: 8978
DOWNLOAD NOW »
“A beautifully drawn study of what is at risk when you lose control of your own life. Unique, gripping, and viscerally moving—this impressive debut novel heralds the arrival of an extremely talented writer.” —Jodi Picoult, New York Times–bestselling author of Leaving Time Destined to be a book club favorite, a heart-wrenching debut about two people who must decide how much they’re willing to sacrifice for love. Mara Nichols is a successful lawyer, devoted wife, and adoptive mother who has received a life-shattering diagnosis. Scott Coffman, a middle school teacher, has been fostering an eight-year-old boy while the boy’s mother serves a jail sentence. Scott and Mara both have five days left until they must say good-bye to the ones they love the most. Through their stories, Julie Lawson Timmer explores the individual limits of human endurance and the power of relationships, and shows that sometimes loving someone means holding on, and sometimes it means letting go.

One Day in the Prairie


Author: Jean Craighead George
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 0064420396
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 64
View: 5596
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Henry Rush is spending the day at the Prairie Wildlife Refuge, determined to photograph a prairie dog doing a back flip. But while he whatches and waites at the edge of prairie dog town, he fails to notice the electricity humming through the air. Or the buffalo aniously pawing the ground. Or the purple-blue cloud building over the prairie grass. A tornado is forming to the west . And when the dark funnel touches down, it will wipe out everything in it's path...

Little Town on the Prairie


Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 0060885432
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 390
View: 1299
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Laura spends her fifteenth summer working hard to help send Mary to a college for the blind.

Five Days in May


Author: Ninie Hammon
Publisher: Kingstone Media
ISBN: 1936164310
Category: Fiction
Page: 324
View: 7829
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The lives of four people in Graham, Oklahoma, change forever as a Category 5 tornado approaches.

Under a Falling Star


Author: Caroline Fyffe
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9781503951044
Category: Fiction
Page: N.A
View: 1154
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Little House on the Prairie


Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder
Publisher: Egmont Books (UK)
ISBN: 9781405264143
Category: Children's stories
Page: 243
View: 8528
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Classic tales by Laura Ingalls Wilder about life on the frontier and America’s best-loved pioneer family. The sun-kissed prairie stretches out around the Ingalls family, smiling its welcome after their long, hard journey across America. But looks can be deceiving and they soon find that they must share the land with wild bears and Indians. Will there be enough land for all of them? Little House on the Prairie is the sequel to Little House in the Big Woods and On the Banks of Plum Creek. Beautifully bound in this gift book edition from the Egmont Heritage range, Little House is now even more of a book to be cherished and shared.

Prairie Rose


Author: Catherine Palmer
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
ISBN: 9780842370561
Category: Fiction
Page: 262
View: 2685
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Rosie Mills, who was raised as an orphan, develops feelings for the young widower for whom she is working as a housekeeper, but she feels barred by her past from any chance for happiness.

Prairie Day


Author: Laura Ingalls Wilder
Publisher: Harper Collins
ISBN: 0064435040
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 32
View: 7351
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Join Laura and her family on their journey across the flat Kansas prairie. There are gophers and rabbits to play with in the daytime, and a cozy camp awaits at night. Renée Graef's enchanting full-color illustrations, inspired by Garth Williams' classic artwork, bring Laura and her family lovingly to life in this ninth title in the My First Little House Books series, picture books adapted from Laura Ingalls Wilder's beloved storybooks.

Running Out of Time


Author: Margaret Peterson Haddix
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1442461292
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 192
View: 6345
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Jessie lives with her family in the frontier village of Clifton, Indiana, in 1840...or so she believes. When diphtheria strikes the village and the children of Clifton start dying, Jessie's mother reveals a shocking secret -- it's actually 1996, and they are living in a reconstructed village that serves as a tourist site. In the world outside, medicine exists that can cure the dread disease, and Jessie's mother is sending her on a dangerous mission to bring back help. But beyond the walls of Clifton, Jessie discovers a world even more alien and threatening than she could have imagined, and soon she finds her own life in jeopardy. Can she get help before the children of Clifton, and Jessie herself, run out of time?

My Ántonia


Author: Willa Cather
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Czech Americans
Page: 372
View: 9284
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The story of a frontier family in the Midwest.

The Tender Years (Prairie Legacy Book #1)


Author: Janette Oke
Publisher: Bethany House
ISBN: 9781585587377
Category: Fiction
Page: 256
View: 2863
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Continuing the story from Love Comes Softly, the granddaughter of the Davis's experiences a tragedy, she has a crisis of faith.

Lake Wobegon Days


Author: Garrison Keillor
Publisher: Penguin
ISBN: 1101640286
Category: Fiction
Page: 352
View: 9370
DOWNLOAD NOW »
“Lake Wobegon Days is about the way our beliefs, desires and fears tail off into abstractions--and get renewed from time to time. . . this book, unfolding Mr. Keillor's full design, is a genuine work of American history.” —The New York Times “A comic anatomy of what is small and ordinary and therefore potentially profound and universal in American life…Keillor’s strength as a writer is to make the ordinary extraordinary.” —Chicago Tribune “Keillor’s laughs come dear, not cheap, emerging from shared virtue and good character, from reassuring us of our neighborliness and strength….His true subject is how daily life is shot with grace. Keillor writes a prose that can be turned to laughter, to tears…to compassion or satire, to a hundred effects. He is a brilliant parodist.” —San Francisco Chronicle

True Heart's Desire


Author: Caroline Fyffe
Publisher: Montlake Romance
ISBN: 9781503902800
Category: Fiction
Page: 302
View: 1201
DOWNLOAD NOW »
USA Today bestselling author Caroline Fyffe invites you back to Eden, Colorado, where five sisters have inherited the town--and are winning over men's hearts one by one. Since their father's death summoned Lavinia Brinkman and her four sisters to Eden, Colorado, Lavinia has been content with her new life. Well, almost. Lavinia's heart's desire--creating the elaborate hats she loves--doesn't belong in this small town. How can she choose between the life she has and the life she wants? Especially when she's so utterly vexed by the handsome scoundrel who's just arrived in Eden. Rhett Laughlin intends to fulfill a dream and open a profitable restaurant in the growing town. Instead, he's marched right into trouble with one of Eden's most eligible bachelorettes. But as much as Lavinia Brinkman is making things difficult, Rhett can't keep himself from thinking about her. With every spirited encounter, the animosity between Rhett and Lavinia is starting to look a lot like attraction. And the town of Eden is about to discover what happens when these rivals find what truly lies in their hearts...

A Quiet Strength (Prairie Legacy Book #3)


Author: Janette Oke
Publisher: Bethany House
ISBN: 9781585587223
Category: Fiction
Page: 240
View: 7211
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Virginia must learn the heavenly source of strength through trials in this best-selling novel.

PrairyErth

A Deep Map
Author: William Least Heat-Moon
Publisher: HMH
ISBN: 0547527470
Category: History
Page: 640
View: 8488
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This New York Times bestseller by the author of Blue Highways is “a majestic survey of land and time and people in a single county of the Kansas plains” (Hungry Mind Review). William Least Heat-Moon travels by car and on foot into the core of our continent, focusing on the landscape and history of Chase County—a sparsely populated tallgrass prairie in the Flint Hills of central Kansas—exploring its land, plants, animals, and people until this small place feels as large as the universe. Called a “modern-day Walden” by the Chicago Sun-Times, PrairyErth is a journey through a place, through time, and into the human mind from the acclaimed author of Here, There, Elsewhere: Stories from the Road. “A sense of the American grain that will give [PrairyErth] a permanent place in the literature of our country.” —Paul Theroux, The New York Times

When Mischief Came to Town


Author: Katrina Nannestad
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
ISBN: 0544633768
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 208
View: 8245
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In the tradition of ANNE OF GREEN GABLES and PIPPI LONGSTOCKING comes a heart-warming novel about love, family, grief, joy and the power of laughter and imagination. When Inge Maria arrives on the tiny island of Bornholm in Denmark to live with her grandmother, she's not sure what to expect. Her grandmother is stern, the people on the island are strange, and children are supposed to be seen and not heard. But no matter how hard Inge tries to be good, mischief has a way of finding her. Could it be that a bit of mischief is exactly what Grandmother and the people of Bornholm need?