Book of Virtues


Author: William J. Bennett
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 0671683063
Category: Education
Page: 831
View: 2118
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A senior editor of National Review and leading conservative spokesperson provides commentary to accompany this anthology of character-building stories from history, the Bible, and such poets as Frost and Angelou. 60,000 first printing. National ad/promo. Tour.

The Book of Virtues for Young People

A Treasury of Great Moral Stories
Author: William J. Bennett
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 0689816138
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 384
View: 1871
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Stories from the best-selling Book of Virtues target a younger audience and include material from O. Henry, Tolstoy, and Guy de Maupassant, along with tales from Aesop, poetry from Emily Dickinson, and many other selections.

Children's Book of Virtues


Author: William J. Bennett,Michael Hague
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 068481353X
Category: Family & Relationships
Page: 111
View: 2416
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A collection of stories and poems presented to teach virtues, including compassion, courage, honesty, friendship, and faith.

The Book of Virtues


Author: William J. Bennett
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 9781439126257
Category: Literary Criticism
Page: 832
View: 5144
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Responsibility. Courage. Compassion. Honesty. Friendship. Persistence. Faith. Everyone recognizes these traits as essentials of good character. In order for our children to develop such traits, we have to offer them examples of good and bad, right and wrong. And the best places to find them are in great works of literature and exemplary stories from history. William J. Bennett has collected hundreds of stories in The Book of Virtues, an instructive and inspiring anthology that will help children understand and develop character -- and help adults teach them. From the Bible to American history, from Greek mythology to English poetry, from fairy tales to modern fiction, these stories are a rich mine of moral literacy, a reliable moral reference point that will help anchor our children and ourselves in our culture, our history, and our traditions -- the sources of the ideals by which we wish to live our lives. Complete with instructive introductions and notes, The Book of Virtues is a book the whole family can read and enjoy -- and learn from -- together.

Humble Heart

A Book of Virtues
Author: Amy Meyer Allen
Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers, Inc.
ISBN: 1414380690
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 190
View: 6511
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In this collection of stories, animal friends learn such virtues as thoughtfulness, forgiveness, thankfulness, and humility. Each story ends with a Bible verse.

The Book of Virtues for Boys and Girls

A Treasury of Great Moral Stories
Author: William J. Bennett
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 1416971254
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 202
View: 6144
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Well-known works by such authors as Aesop, Dickens, Tolstoy, Shakespeare, and Baldwin are presented to teach virtues, including compassion, courage, honesty, friendship, and faith.

A Child's First Book of Virtues


Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9781565073296
Category: Children's literature, American
Page: 124
View: 6049
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A collection of over 100 short stories and rhymes that illustrate the virtues of generosity, honesty, compassion, loyalty, and others.

The Book of Virtues


Author: James Baldini
Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
ISBN: 1469173751
Category: Fiction
Page: 173
View: 478
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In a world where we struggle with our humanity it is easy to find those moments that are a cross between reality and the virtues we hold most true. In this collection of stories we see characters that face those moments of challenge and struggle that demonstrate the best and worst of humanity. From the search for true love, the troubling fight over a fathers soul, to the racial divides faced in the 1960s. This collection of stories brings to life the everyday struggles that we face, along with a few twists along the way.

The Book of Love

A Treasury Inspired By The Greatest of Virtues
Author: Andrew M. Greeley,Mary G. Durkin
Publisher: Forge Books
ISBN: 142991825X
Category: Religion
Page: 512
View: 7775
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Love. Of all the virtues that have been passed on to us through the ages, from the great poets to the saints and scholars, throughout history and literature, love is the one virtue that we as a society cannot live without. The ability to love well and to love wisely is the most important trait that parents can pass on to their children. As children grow, the longing to share this love as well as receive it will remain strong throughout their lives. Bestselling author Andrew M. Greeley and his sister, Dr. Mary G. Durkin have complied a beautiful and inspiring anthology that will help us comprehend this the most important of virtues and also help us express and understand what it means to love, and how to love wisely. The Book of Love is a perfect gift for a parent to give to a child, for relatives or friends to share, or for those who are coming to know this virtue in all its glory. People of all nations, creeds, colors, and denominations will appreciate this treasury of essays, poems, stories, and songs reflecting the one human need that has remained constant: Love. It has been written about in the Bible, and it was passed down orally in myth and legend. It was discussed by the Chinese philosopher Confucius and in the Koran, and it inspired great works of literature and the pages of popular fiction. The Book of Love is a testament to the enduring nature of our own good, a good expressed through the human bond. In the tradition of William J. Bennett's The Book of Virtue, The Book of Love is a collection to be treasured, and shared, but most of all, it will guide us to express and to pass on the greatest of life's virtues: Love. At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

The Children's Treasury of Virtues


Author: William John Bennett,Michael Hague
Publisher: Simon and Schuster
ISBN: 0743211367
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 333
View: 5091
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A timeless celebration of the virtues of courage, perseverance, responsibility, faith, honesty, and compassion, this beautifully illustrated single volume combines the wisdom of Bennett's three bestselling children's classics. 375 watercolor illustrations throughout.

Life's Little Book of Virtues


Author: Jo Petty
Publisher: Bbs Publishing Corporation
ISBN: 9780884861485
Category: Virtues
Page: 160
View: 7527
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A new aggregate of verses, quotes, and sayings, drawn from many sources, celebrates the essential virtues of love, peace, joy, long-suffering gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, and temperance and offers readers inspiration and uplift anytime, anywhere.

BOOK OF VIRTUES

AUDIO COLLECTION
Author: WILLIAM J. BENNETT
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9780671934477
Category:
Page: N.A
View: 4401
DOWNLOAD NOW »


A Child's Book of Virtues


Author: Kay McSpadden
Publisher: C. D. Stampley Enterprises
ISBN: 9781580871563
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 62
View: 5868
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A collection of 14 stories from history, literature, and beloved folk tales, each illustrating a different virtue. Read and learn about loyalty from Huck Finn, hope from Frederick Douglass, foresight from the hero Odysseus, and many more. Beautifully illustrated and entertainingly told, a Child's Book of Virtues introduces young readers to some of the world's great role models and inspires them to lead extraordinary lives.

The Cat Book of Virtues

A Parody : a Collection of Stories for the Noble Cat
Author: Susan Besze Wallace
Publisher: Summit Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781565301689
Category: Humor
Page: 132
View: 8196
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In this warm and playful look at felines, readers get the cat's modified version of William Bennett's bestselling Book of Virtues. Cats are singled out for virtues such as courage, loyalty and grace. This collection includes many familiar and time-honored works, stories, poems and proverbs, many refashioned to give the cat the lead role. Illustrations.

Benjamin Franklin's Book of Virtues


Author: Benjamin Franklin
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9781429093552
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 32
View: 594
DOWNLOAD NOW »
From 1771 to his death in 1790, Benjamin Franklin was in the process of writing what he referred to as his Memoirs. Portions of the unfinished work were published posthumously as Memoirs of the Private Life of Benjamin Franklin, first in French in 1791, and then in English in 1793. Today the complete unfinished manuscript is known as The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, and is considered one of the most famous and influential examples of autobiography ever written. In the heart of the work, Franklin wrote of his "bold and arduous Project of arriving at Perfection" when he was a young man. He prepared a list of thirteen virtues he wished to perfect in himself, and created a chart in which to keep track of his shortcomings. Among Franklin's list of virtues were personal traits (frugality, moderation, tranquility) and social traits (sincerity, justice, humility). Franklin strayed from the virtuous path on many occasions, and discovered perfection was an impossible thing to achieve, but felt a better man for the effort. Applewood Books now offers Benjamin Franklin's Book of Virtues as Franklin intended it - a beautiful little hardcover, complete with the list of thirteen virtues and a chart to monitor one's own progress.

Xavier Wintersbee and the Book Of Virtues


Author: Casey Ardron
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9780994513908
Category: Young Adult Fiction
Page: 446
View: 1991
DOWNLOAD NOW »
AGE OLD ENTERTAINMENT for the NEW GENERATION - An action packed, adolescent adventure novel, following the adventures of an archaeologists son on the mythical island of Cortoza. Defying authoritarian rule, he impatiently tracks down his father only to wind up on his own mission - www.xavierwintersbee.com

God's Big Book of Virtues

A Treasury of Wisdom for Living a Good Life
Author: N.A
Publisher: Oneworld Publications Limited
ISBN: 9781851681716
Category: Religion
Page: 160
View: 312
DOWNLOAD NOW »
An uncommonly diverse treasury of excerpts from religious scriptures, devotional writings, poems, stories, and quotations reminds readers of the truly valuable qualities they should strive for in their relationships with others.