Mystical Theology and Continental Philosophy

Interchange in the Wake of God
Author: David Lewin,Simon D. Podmore,Duane Williams
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
ISBN: 1317090942
Category: Religion
Page: 264
View: 8663
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Exploration of the interface between mystical theology and continental philosophy is a defining feature of the current intellectual and even devotional climate. But to what extent and in what depth are these disciplines actually speaking to one another; or even speaking about the same phenomena? This book draws together original contributions by leading and emerging international scholars, delineating emerging debates in this growing and dynamic field of research, and spanning mystical and philosophical traditions from the ancient, to the medieval, modern, and contemporary. At the heart of which lies Meister Eckhart, perhaps the single most influential Christian mystic for modern times. The book is organised around significant historical and contemporary figures who speak across the intersections of philosophy and theology, offering new insights into key interlocutors such as Pseudo-Dionysius, Augustine, Isaac Luria, Eckhart, Hegel, Heidegger, Marion, Kierkegaard, Deleuze, Laruelle, and Žižek. Designed both to contribute to current trends in mystical theology and philosophy, and elicit dialogue and debate from further afield, this book speaks within an emerging space exploring the retrieval of the mystical within a post-secular context.

The Sacred in Music


Author: Albert L. Blackwell
Publisher: Westminster John Knox Press
ISBN: 9780664224868
Category: Religion
Page: 255
View: 3185
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Religion and music are complementary resources for interpreting our lives. Music serves the sacred in ways that can be specified and articulated, yet the connection between them has been sorely neglected in the scholarly study of religion. In The Sacred in Music, Albert Blackwell brings the two subjects together in a celebration of the rich Western musical tradition, both classical and Christian.

The Trespass of the Sign

Deconstruction, Theology, and Philosophy
Author: Kevin Hart
Publisher: Fordham Univ Press
ISBN: 9780823220502
Category: Philosophy
Page: 320
View: 8726
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The Trespass of the Sign offers a clear and thorough account of the relations between deconstruction and theology. Kevin Hart argues that, contrary to popular thought on the topic, deconstruction does not have an antitheological agenda. Rather, deconstruction seeks to question the metaphysics of any theology. Hart pays particular attention to mystical theology as nonmetaphysical theology.

The Everlasting and the Eternal


Author: J. Kellenberger
Publisher: Springer
ISBN: 1137553308
Category: Philosophy
Page: 188
View: 6597
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The subject of this book is the relationship and the difference between the temporal everlasting and the atemporal eternal. This book treats the difference between a temporal postmortem life and eternal life. It identifies the conceptual tension in the religious idea of eternal life and offers a resolution of that tension.

The Western way

a practical guide to the Western mystery tradition
Author: Caitlín Matthews,John Matthews
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9781850630173
Category: Body, Mind & Spirit
Page: 288
View: 7910
DOWNLOAD NOW »


The autobiography of the Archpriest Avvakum

the outer limits of the narrative icon
Author: Priscilla Hart Hunt
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category:
Page: 674
View: 8820
DOWNLOAD NOW »


The search for God

Christianity, atheism, secularism, world religions
Author: Hans Schwarz
Publisher: SPCK Publishing
ISBN: N.A
Category: Religion
Page: 288
View: 4935
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Studies in formative spirituality


Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category:
Page: N.A
View: 3834
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Dialectic in Karl Barth's Doctrine of God


Author: Terry L. Cross
Publisher: Peter Lang Pub Incorporated
ISBN: N.A
Category: Religion
Page: 232
View: 4931
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Early in his theological development, the Swiss theologian, Karl Barth, used a philosophical method called dialectic to organize his theological framework. In recent years, rather intense discussion has arisen over the source of Barth's dialectic and whether it remained in effect during the later period of the writing of <I>Church Dogmatics or it diminished in importance under the new rubric of analogy. Terry L. Cross examines the sources of Barth's dialectic and investigates how it continues to operate alongside analogy within Barth's doctrine of God in <I>Church Dogmatics. The conclusion is that Barth's doctrine of God will not work without his special dialectic and analogy - a<I> dialectica fidei as well as an <I>analogia fidei.

Sky in a Bottle


Author: Peter Pesic
Publisher: Mit Press
ISBN: N.A
Category: Science
Page: 262
View: 440
DOWNLOAD NOW »
The age-old question "Why is the sky blue?" begins a quest through science, history, and art, from Aristotle and Newton through Goethe and Einstein.

Faith & Reason


Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Theology
Page: N.A
View: 9839
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Dionysius the Areopagite on the Divine Names and the Mystical Theology


Author: Clarence E. Rolt
Publisher: Cosimo, Inc.
ISBN: 1602068364
Category: Religion
Page: 212
View: 2954
DOWNLOAD NOW »
First published in 1920, this book is a translation-the only known work of British scholar CLARENCE EDWIN ROLT (1880-1917)-of On the Divine Names and The Mystical Theology, by Dionysius the Areopagite, a first-century bishop of Athens. The author is often also referred to as "pseudo-Dionysius" because a variety of anachronisms suggest that the manuscript was actually written much later by an unknown writer. Despite the book's unclear origins, the writings are still greatly valued for their theological insight. Saint Thomas Aquinas often quoted from pseudo-Dionysius, as did many other famous and influential theologians and philosophers. Pseudo-Dionysius deals, here, with the Supra-Personality of God. Personality, by definition, is a quality limited to an individual. God, on the other hand, is the opposite of an individual. God is in all things, so one cannot speak of a personality for the divine. Rather, pseudo-Dionysius proposes a Supra-Personality, which describes aspects and qualities of the universal being. Religious scholars and Christians wanting a different understanding of the relationship between God and the universe will find this a challenging but ultimately thought-provoking study.

Studies in Medieval Culture, XI


Author: John R Sommerfeldt,Thomas H Seiler
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Civilization, Medieval
Page: 171
View: 6667
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Studies in Medieval Culture


Author: N.A
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Civilization, Medieval
Page: N.A
View: 8203
DOWNLOAD NOW »


The Fathers of the Eastern Church


Author: Robert Payne
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Religion
Page: 313
View: 8469
DOWNLOAD NOW »


The doctrine of God

an historical survey
Author: Christopher B. Kaiser
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Religion
Page: 152
View: 9977
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Theophany

The Neoplatonic Philosophy of Dionysius the Areopagite
Author: Eric D. Perl
Publisher: SUNY Press
ISBN: 079148002X
Category: Philosophy
Page: 175
View: 394
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Situates Pseudo-Dionysius the Areopagite as a Neoplatonic philosopher in the tradition of Plotinus and Proclus.

The Grotesque in Art and Literature

Theological Reflections
Author: James Luther Adams,Wilson Yates,Robert Penn Warren
Publisher: Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing
ISBN: 9780802842671
Category: Art
Page: 279
View: 2209
DOWNLOAD NOW »
While there has been a growing interest in the use of grotesque imagery in art and literature, very little attention has been given to the religious and theological significance of such imagery. This fascinating book redresses that neglect by exploring the religious meaning of the grotesque and its importance as a subject for theological inquiry.

Hidden Wisdom

Esoteric Traditions And The Roots Of Christian Mysticism
Author: Gedaliahu A. Guy Stroumsa,Guy G. Sṭrûmzā
Publisher: BRILL
ISBN: 9004136355
Category: Religion
Page: 211
View: 6468
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This book investigates the problem of esoteric traditions in early Christianity, their origin and their transformation in Patristic hermeneutics, in the West as well as in the East. It argues that these traditions eventually formed the basis of nascent Christian mysticism in Late Antiquity. These esoteric traditions do not reflect the influence of Greek Mystery religions, as has often been claimed, but rather seem to stem from the Jewish background of Christianity. They were adopted by various Gnostic teachings, a fact which helps explaining their eventual disappearance from Patristic literature. The eleven chapters study each a different aspect of the problem, including the questions of Gnostic and Manichaean esotericism. This book will be of interest to all students of religious history in Late Antiquity. Revised and extended paperback edition. Originally published in 1996. Please click here for details.