Patient H.M.

A Story of Memory, Madness, and Family Secrets
Author: Luke Dittrich
Publisher: Random House
ISBN: 067964380X
Category: Science
Page: 480
View: 3236
DOWNLOAD NOW »
“Oliver Sacks meets Stephen King”* in this propulsive, haunting journey into the life of the most studied human research subject of all time, the amnesic known as Patient H.M. For readers of The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks comes a story that has much to teach us about our relentless pursuit of knowledge. Winner of the PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award • Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winner NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The Washington Post • New York Post • NPR • The Economist • New York • Wired • Kirkus Reviews • BookPage In 1953, a twenty-seven-year-old factory worker named Henry Molaison—who suffered from severe epilepsy—received a radical new version of the then-common lobotomy, targeting the most mysterious structures in the brain. The operation failed to eliminate Henry’s seizures, but it did have an unintended effect: Henry was left profoundly amnesic, unable to create long-term memories. Over the next sixty years, Patient H.M., as Henry was known, became the most studied individual in the history of neuroscience, a human guinea pig who would teach us much of what we know about memory today. Patient H.M. is, at times, a deeply personal journey. Dittrich’s grandfather was the brilliant, morally complex surgeon who operated on Molaison—and thousands of other patients. The author’s investigation into the dark roots of modern memory science ultimately forces him to confront unsettling secrets in his own family history, and to reveal the tragedy that fueled his grandfather’s relentless experimentation—experimentation that would revolutionize our understanding of ourselves. Dittrich uses the case of Patient H.M. as a starting point for a kaleidoscopic journey, one that moves from the first recorded brain surgeries in ancient Egypt to the cutting-edge laboratories of MIT. He takes readers inside the old asylums and operating theaters where psychosurgeons, as they called themselves, conducted their human experiments, and behind the scenes of a bitter custody battle over the ownership of the most important brain in the world. Patient H.M. combines the best of biography, memoir, and science journalism to create a haunting, endlessly fascinating story, one that reveals the wondrous and devastating things that can happen when hubris, ambition, and human imperfection collide. Praise for Patient H.M. “An exciting, artful blend of family and medical history.”—The New York Times “In prose both elegant and intimate, and often thrilling, Patient H.M. is an important book about the wages not of sin but of science.”—The Washington Post “Spellbinding . . . The fact that Dittrich looks critically at the actual process of scientific investigation is just one of the things to admire about Patient H.M.”—The New York Times Book Review “Patient H.M. tells one of the most fascinating and disturbing stories in the annals of medicine, weaving in ethics, philosophy, a personal saga, the history of neurosurgery, the mysteries of human memory, and an exploration of human ego.”—Sheri Fink, M.D., Pulitzer Prize winner and author of Five Days at Memorial “This is classic reporting and myth-making at the same time.”—Colum McCann, author of Let the Great World Spin *Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

Lehrbuch des Āyurveda

Die Grundprinzipien
Author: Vasant Lad
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783941706491
Category:
Page: 378
View: 1735
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Diablo 05. Der Sündenkrieg 01 - Geburtsrecht


Author: Richard A. Knaak
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783833215537
Category:
Page: 363
View: 1167
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Der Hase mit den Bernsteinaugen

das verborgene Erbe der Familie Ephrussi
Author: Edmund De Waal
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783423142120
Category: Art
Page: 349
View: 5535
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Anhand kleiner japanischer Kunstfiguren, die in einer Bankiersfamilie in Paris, Wien und Tokyo von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben wurden, wird das Leben der jüdischen Oberschicht vom späten 19. Jahrhundert bis nach dem 2. Weltkrieg rekonstruiert.

Chinesen spielen kein Mao-Mao

Geschichten aus meinem Land
Author: Xinran
Publisher: Knaur eBook
ISBN: 3426416522
Category: Biography & Autobiography
Page: 256
View: 426
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Warum waschen Chinesen sich täglich die Füße? Aus welchem Grund tragen Chinesinnen auch im Sommer immer Strümpfe? Und gibt es überhaupt etwas, das Chinesen nicht essen? China ist ein Land voller Gegensätze. Die bekannte Autorin Xinran, die seit langem in Europa lebt, öffnet uns mit ihren Geschichten aus ihrer Heimat die Augen für die Merkwürdigkeiten des chinesischen Alltags und erklärt auch, warum die Chinesen Mao noch immer lieben.

Who are we?

die Krise der amerikanischen Identität
Author: Samuel P. Huntington
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783442151981
Category:
Page: 506
View: 609
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Diablo

Der Sündenkrieg. Der verhüllte Prophet / Richard A. Knaak. Ins Dt. übertr. von Ralph Sander. .... Buch 3
Author: Richard A. Knaak
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783833217135
Category:
Page: 411
View: 2270
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Reise zum Herrn der Macht


Author: Muhyiddin Ibn Arabi
Publisher: Chalice Verlag
ISBN: 3905272733
Category:
Page: 164
View: 1381
DOWNLOAD NOW »
-Ich sah dich nicht auf meinem Weg. Gibt es da noch einen anderen Pfad?- // -Ein jeder hat seinen Weg, den niemand sonst als nur er beschreitet.- // -Und wo befinden sich diese verschiedenen Wege?- // -Sie entstehen durch das Reisen selbst.- Zwei Texte des andalusischen Mystikers Ibn Arabi (1165-1240), des -grossten Meisters-, die - in Anspielung auf die beruhmte -nachtliche Reise- oder Himmelfahrt des Propheten Mohammed - die Umstande und Erfahrungen des volligen Aufgehens in Gott beschreiben. Ibn Arabis Bearbeitung dieses Materials widerspiegelt sowohl seinen besonderen Zugang zum Koran und den Hadithen als auch die ganze Spannweite seiner metaphysisch-theologischen Lehren und seines Interesses an praktischer Spiritualitat. Im engeren Sinn eine Erlauterung von khalwa, einer Sufi-Ubung zur Erlangung der Gegenwart Gottes durch absolute Aufgabe der Welt, beschreibt die Reise zum Herrn der Macht den geistigen Aufstieg durch alle Stufen der Existenz bis hin zur Gottlichen Gegenwart. Ibn Arabi ruft den, der den mystischen Weg der Sufis gehen will, dazu auf, sein Herz zu reinigen und eins zu werden mit seiner inneren Essenz. Mit grosser Klarheit und der Uberzeugungskraft autobiografischer Passagen schildert Ibn Arabi die Erfahrung seiner eigenen Himmelfahrt auch im Text Meine Reise verlief nur in mir selbst, einer hier erstmals auf Deutsch vorliegenden, kommentierten Ubersetzung des Kapitels 367 aus seinen umfangreichen Futuhat al-Makkiya

Der rettende Weg

Schindlers Liste - die wahre Geschichte
Author: Mieczysław Pemper,Viktoria Hertling
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783455501834
Category: Concentration camp inmates
Page: 286
View: 4236
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Telling tales


Author: Nadine Gordimer
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783833302954
Category:
Page: 381
View: 6386
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Van Gogh

Sein Leben
Author: Steven Naifeh,Gregory White Smith
Publisher: S. Fischer Verlag
ISBN: 3104038287
Category: Art
Page: 1216
View: 2001
DOWNLOAD NOW »
»Die maßgebliche Biographie für Jahrzehnte.« Leo Jansen, Kurator des Van-Gogh-Museums, Amsterdam Die große, bahnbrechende, opulent illustrierte Biographie Vincent van Goghs, die einen völlig neuen Blick auf das Malergenie ermöglicht. Sie vereint große erzählerische Kraft mit psychologischem Feingefühl, neueste Forschungsergebnisse mit unbekannten Einblicken in van Goghs Leben: seine tiefe Verwurzelung in Kunst und Literatur, sein kompliziertes Liebesleben, den Kampf gegen seine psychische Erkrankung sowie die mysteriösen Umstände seines Todes. Diese imposante und tief berührende Lebensbeschreibung eines der größten Künstler der Moderne vermittelt ein komplett neues Verständnis von Künstler und Werk. »Steven Naifeh und Gregory White Smith erhellen einzigartig die Entwicklung von van Goghs intensiven Schaffen und seinen beharrlichen Drang zu Lernen, aller Widrigkeiten zum Trotz.« New York Times »Brillant!« The Daily Telegraph

Pindari Carmina cvm Fragmentis

Pars II: Fragmenta. Indices
Author: Herwig Maehler
Publisher: Vieweg+Teubner Verlag
ISBN: 9783663123019
Category: Technology & Engineering
Page: 224
View: 2322
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Der gefallene Vorhang

Storys
Author: Ruth Rendell
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783442055203
Category:
Page: 249
View: 1151
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Der salzige Fluss


Author: Jan Bauer
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783939080909
Category:
Page: 234
View: 543
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Atthasālinī


Author: Buddhaghosa,Nyanaponika (Thera),Bhikkhu Nyānaponika,Sven Bretfeld,Rainer Knopf
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Tipiṭaka
Page: 651
View: 9221
DOWNLOAD NOW »


Shakespeares Schreiber


Author: Gary Blackwood,Christa Holtei
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9783423707411
Category: Actors
Page: 285
View: 9844
DOWNLOAD NOW »
In plague-ridden 1602 England, a fifteen-year-old orphan boy, who has become an apprentice actor, goes on the road with Shakespeare's troupe, and finds out more about his parents along the way.

Fünf Jahre unter den Stämmen des Kongo-Staates


Author: Herbert Ward
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: N.A
Category: Congo (Democratic Republic)
Page: 211
View: 2488
DOWNLOAD NOW »