The Titanic: Lost and Found


Author: Judy Donnelly
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0307560678
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 48
View: 9204
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Titanic. Just the name evokes tales of the doomed ship that have captivated people of all ages for more than 100 years. Early readers will enjoy this exciting account of the world's most famous disaster-at-sea and the discovery of it's remains many years later. Step 4 books are perfect for independent readers who are confident with simple sentences and are just starting to tackle paragraphs. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Tut's Mummy

Lost...and Found
Author: Judy Donnelly
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0385374623
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 48
View: 5594
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Illus. in full color with black-and-white & full-color photos. "Beginning with the death of Tutankhamen, the book moves forward to archaeologist Howard Carter's discovery of the tomb. Information about ancient Egyptian life is interspersed in a clear, smooth fashion throughout. A good way to get readers into non-fiction."--Booklist.

Moonwalk

The First Trip to the Moon
Author: Judy Donnelly
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0394824571
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 47
View: 4058
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Narrates the preparations and activities which culminated in man's first landing on the moon in July 1969.

Escape North! The Story of Harriet Tubman


Author: Monica Kulling
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0385374798
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 48
View: 9383
DOWNLOAD NOW »
An easy-to-read, page-turning account of Harriet Tubman's life--from her childhood in slavery to her years as a conductor on the Underground Railroad to her later work as a suffragette and as a spy in the Civil War. This remarkable true story brings to life one of America's greatest female role models.

Volcanoes!

Mountains of Fire
Author: Eric Arnold
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0385374755
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 48
View: 2028
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A volcano could be called a sleeping mountain--that is, until it wakes up! What is it like to witness the eruption of one of nature's majestic time bombs? Young readers can learn what makes volcanoes "tick," and read about some of the most famous eruptions in history.

True-Life Treasure Hunts


Author: Judy Donnelly,Tom LaPadula
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 9780679839804
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 47
View: 3001
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Presents fascinating, easy-to-read accounts of real-life searches for hidden treasure and the incredible discoveries of treasure hunters. Simultaneous.

To the Top!


Author: Sydelle Kramer
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0385374682
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 48
View: 7637
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Illus. in full color. Here is the gripping story of Hillary and Norgay's perilous ascent of Mount Everest as they battled snow and ice slides, whipping winds, and the grim knowledge that 19 others had died in the same attempt.

Barry

The Bravest Saint Bernard
Author: Lynn Hall
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0375844392
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 42
View: 6714
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Relates the feats of Barry, the Saint Bernard dog, whose name, to this day, bears the best dog honor at the Saint Bernard Monastery of Switzerland.

Wild, Wild Wolves


Author: Joyce Milton
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0385374801
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 48
View: 1806
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Illus. in full color. A fascinating introduction to the world of wolves, one of nature's most enduring and misunderstood creatures. Wolf-pack behavior, body language, and the meaning of howls are all demystified in this natural history.

Pompeii...Buried Alive!


Author: Edith Kunhardt Davis
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0553512587
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 48
View: 8961
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Illus. in full color. "The drama of natural disasters provides prime material to entice young independent readers. In this volume, the account of the eruption of Mount Vesuvius describes village life 2,000 years ago, the eruption itself and its aftermath, and the excitement when the buried town is rediscovered centuries later. A lively and factual glimpse of a devastating moment in history, in an accessible, attractive package."--Publishers Weekly.

Finding the Titanic


Author: Robert D. Ballard
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9781435245976
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: N.A
View: 9371
DOWNLOAD NOW »
Describes the voyage of the Titanic, the accident that caused it to sink, and the rescue of those who survived.

Nelson Mandela: From Prisoner to President


Author: Suzy Capozzi
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0553513443
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 48
View: 4285
DOWNLOAD NOW »
This Step 4 leveled reader about Nelson Mandela, the Nobel Prize–winning activist for racial equality in South Africa, is as spellbinding a biography as you can find. His journey from student to revolutionary to inmate to president of South Africa will inspire and engage kids of all ages. As conversations about race, prejudice, and injustice pervade classrooms and homes, teachers and parents need books that can bring those discussions within the grasp of kids. Nelson Mandela’s story, told honestly and accessibly, is just such a book. The subjects of apartheid and racism are handled with aplomb, and readers will find much to discuss with their classmates, friends, and families. Step 4 Readers use challenging vocabulary and short paragraphs to tell exciting stories. For newly independent readers who read simple sentences with confidence. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Meet Thomas Jefferson


Author: Marvin Barrett
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 030778696X
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 80
View: 3818
DOWNLOAD NOW »
When Thomas Jefferson was young, Virginia was still a colony of England. Jefferson thought that many English laws and taxes were unfair, so he studied hard to become a lawyer and help make better laws. Soon he and others came to believe that the colonies should become a new country, and Jefferson was chosen to write the Declaration of Independence. As the third president of the United States, he focused on exploring the country and making it grow. His fairness and love of learning made him one of the most beloved presidents of all time. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Next Spring an Oriole


Author: Gloria Whelan
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 030777161X
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 64
View: 9580
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A pioneer adventure perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House series! On Libby Mitchell’s tenth birthday, she and her parents climb into a covered wagon and set off on a journey that takes them two months and a thousand miles. Their trip from Virginia to the deep woods of Michigan is hard, but it is exciting, too. And at its end lies their new home—a place that is rugged, wild, and full of promise. History Stepping Stones now feature updated content that emphasizes Common Core and today’s renewed interest in nonfiction. Perfect for home, school, and library bookshelves! From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Incredible Dash (Disney/Pixar The Incredibles)


Author: RH Disney
Publisher: RH/Disney
ISBN: 038538906X
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 48
View: 8332
DOWNLOAD NOW »
AFTER BEING FORCED to live normal human lives, the Incredibles have the chance to rediscover their superhuman abilities. But will these superheroes learn to work together as a family to defeat evil? Find out in this action-packed Step 3 reader based on the hit film, The Incredibles. “I’ve seen Step into Readings appeal to all ages. . . . The built-in levels and high-interest titles engage a variety of learners with different learning styles.”—Franky Murphy, second, fourth, and sixth grade teacher.

A Poor Excuse for a Dragon


Author: Geoffrey Hayes
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0375899383
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 48
View: 1136
DOWNLOAD NOW »
"Punchy dialogue and compact sentences should make this a read-aloud delight."—Publishers Weekly "Part-slapstick, part-fairy tale, the gently humorous plot has enough twists and turns to keep newly independent readers engaged."—School Library Journal Fred the dragon has a list of tasks he must complete in order to be a successful dragon—none of which comes naturally. But he's determined to make #5—eat people—work. Before you can say "pass the salt" he's gobbled up three people even though he doesn't have the stomach for it. Luckily a local shepherd, with the help of a giant and a witch, knows how to cure what ails him and get those pesky people out of his belly. It's happily-ever-after for everyone in ways you'd never expect. Geisel award-winning author/illustrator Geoffrey Hayes is a stepped reader maestro. The common threads between his wildly popular Uncle Tooth and Otto SIRs and the more recent Benny and Penny series (Toon Books) are clear and constant. The art is adorable, the characters are bursting with personality, and the stories are humorously subversive. From marauding pirates to misbehaving mice to a dragon who swallows people whole (and then continues to communicate with them in his belly!), Geoffrey always hits that sweet spot for the stepped reader audience—easy to decode, illustrative tales that tickle the funnybone. From the Trade Paperback edition.

Ben Franklin and the Magic Squares


Author: Frank Murphy
Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN: 0385374615
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 48
View: 4881
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A funny, entertaining introduction to Ben Franklin and his many inventions, including the story of how he created the "magic square." A magic square is a box of nine numbers arranged so that any line of three numbers adds up to the same number, including on the diagonal! Teachers and kids will love finding out about this popular teaching tool that is still used in elementary schools today!

How Not to Babysit Your Brother


Author: Catherine Hapka,Ellen Titlebaum
Publisher: Turtleback Books
ISBN: 9781417685264
Category: Juvenile Fiction
Page: 46
View: 7342
DOWNLOAD NOW »
When Grandma falls asleep, Will finds himself responsible for his little brother Steve and discovers the hard way what not to do when in charge.

Remembering the Titanic


Author: Frieda Wishinsky
Publisher: Scholastic Paperbacks
ISBN: 9780545358446
Category: Juvenile Nonfiction
Page: 31
View: 1694
DOWNLOAD NOW »
A centennial tribute traces the story of the Titanic while describing what life was like aboard the ship and profiles some of its passengers and crew, providing additional coverage of Robert Ballard's discovery of the wreck in 1985.

The Story of Titanic for Children


Author: Joe Fullman
Publisher: N.A
ISBN: 9781783123353
Category:
Page: 48
View: 6588
DOWNLOAD NOW »
It was a night to remember--when the "unsinkable" ship sunk. Introduce children to the unforgettable story of the Titanic. More than a century after it crashed into an iceberg, the Titanic remains as compelling as ever. Now children can explore its beautiful sundecks, marvel at the luxurious design, and relive the tragic sinking of the world's most famous ship. Rich in visual detail, this insightful look at the unfolding disaster will hold kids spellbound with intriguing facts and real-life stories.