Illustrations of British Entomology

Black : thorax convex , with the anterior margin rufous , the surface clothed with a
delicate ashy down ; the lateral ... Somewhat depressed : black with whitish
clouds and spots above , beneath entirely ashy - white : thorax with the disc and
a ...

Author: James Francis Stephens

Publisher:

ISBN: UCM:5327873856

Category:

Page: 27

View: 959

Download →

Posted in:

Illustrations of British Entomology Or a Synopsis of Indigenous Insects

Black : thorax convex , with the anterior margin rufous , the surface clothed with a
delicate ashy down ; the lateral ... Somewhat depressed : black with whitish
clouds and spots above , beneath entirely ashy - white : thorax with the disc and
a ...

Author: James Francis Stephens

Publisher:

ISBN: BSB:BSB10309007

Category:

Page: 413

View: 758

Download →

Posted in:

White Sails Black Clouds

Escapade heeled under this driving cloud and started to charge down on the line
. One glance aloft showed our latest problem . The upper third of the jib had not
broken out and was hung up on a twisted jib - hank . Windigo , Challenge , and ...

Author: John J. McNamara

Publisher:

ISBN: PSU:000002529516

Category: Yacht racing

Page: 192

View: 624

Download →

Posted in:

The Cyclop dia Or Universal Dictionary of Arts Sciences and Literature

Wings nearly three-tailed, blue, with a black border; beneath black, with white
bands. can inse&t. PETUs. Wings nearly three-tailed, ... Wings two-tailed, black,
with a blue disk beneath, with chesnut-brown clouds. It inhabits China.
TYRTAEUs.

Author: Abraham Rees

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015057241112

Category: Encyclopedias and dictionaries

Page:

View: 567

Download →

Posted in:

Black Clouds and Epitaphs

His winter-white hair flared from beneath a fur cap to his shoulders, framing his
rugged, weathered features like the mane of an aging lion. Back under large,
coarse, bushy brows were penetrating chestnut eyes that seemed to glow like
those ...

Author: Pete Peterson

Publisher: Untreed Reads

ISBN: 9781611870534

Category: Fiction

Page: 125

View: 161

Download →

In 1865, Trace Garrett, a war-weary and haggard young man returns to his Missouri farm to find that his kid brother, Charlie, has been lynched by a brutal band of seven Yankee raiders. Only the fast action of old Jason, the family's black retainer, saved the boy. Jason dispatches Trace to the house, where he finds his father slain, his mother ravaged, mutilated and murdered ...
Posted in:

Comma

pavement, turning brown hair black and flushed faces white, caught up in an
ecstatic pushing and shoving to the darkened interior. Shouting and coloured
light. ... Beneath high white lights, the grass embankment lookedgrey. Black
clouds werepressing down on the final stratum of creamcoloured sunset. Jo,
glancing left ...

Author: Michael Bracewell

Publisher: Comma Press

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 135

View: 391

Download →

Posted in:

Under Three Flags

But the black hull has already disappeared beneath the waves and he sees only
the fluttering red , white and blue ere the ... There is a rapid gush of escaping
steam , the stacks cease to vomit forth their black clouds and the Infanta Isabel
turns ...

Author: Bert Leston Taylor

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433076080526

Category: Elopement

Page: 343

View: 799

Download →

Posted in:

The Living Age

... around but the great black cloud passed beneath , her , and shortly the roar ,
and the white tops of the waves breaking ing of the surf along the open shore of
before its steady rushing wind . Then the coast was heard , and the white -
crested ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:$B623077

Category:

Page:

View: 254

Download →

Posted in:

Raven 3 Odin s Wolves

But even in death poor Halldor could not shrug off his ill-wyrd, for as soon as we
had lit the sea-smoothed white driftwood beneath the corpse, the pitch-black
clouds overhead began to spill stinging rain, with streaks of lightning and cracks
of ...

Author: Giles Kristian

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781409011859

Category: Fiction

Page: 560

View: 803

Download →

From Giles Kristian, THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF LANCELOT, comes the final spellbinding and breathtaking instalment of the bestselling Raven trilogy. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Robert Low and Game of Thrones. "A great tale that held me spellbound" -- BERNARD CORNWELL "Giles Kristian spins a viking saga so evocative, so thrilling that no other author can surpass him" -- ***** Reader review "Bravo again. Odin's Wolves is a masterpiece" -- ***** Reader review "I simply did not want this book to end, Giles; you should be congratulated for producing a magnificent series and one which has had me glued from start to finish" -- ***** Reader review ********************************************* WE LUSTED FOR AN EVEN GREATER PRIZE: ONE THAT CAN NEVER BE LOST OR STOLEN OR BURNT... Raven and his fellow Vikings have suffered: good men have died; hard-won treasure has been lost. But for these Norsemen, there is something more precious than gold or silver, and that is fame - for this is what a warrior leaves behind when he has breathed his last. And so the brotherhood sail for Constantinople, the city they call Miklagard. There, it is rumoured, both riches and glory are to be found... The journey takes them through unknown and dangerous waters - from the wind-whipped marshes of the Camargue to the treachery and faded glory of a once-mighty Rome. For Raven and the Wolfpack there is a high price to pay for the fame they seek. Miklagard's streets may seem paved with gold, but they also run with blood . . . Raven: Odin's Wolves is the third title in the Raven trilogy. Have you read Raven: Blood Eye and Raven: Sons of Thunder, the first two titles in the trilogy?
Posted in:

Country Life

Later , when dark clouds began to gather on the heights , when the sun was lost
behind a mound of vapour , and thunder ... the snowy heights that marked the
Swedish frontier was a band of purple - black cloud , edged with fantastic
ramparts of white . ... On our right , over Snaehetta and Ranheim , was another
storm , also a mass of purple - black cloud and likewise ... We ran down the last
bank , and as we under the name of Pluviaris apricaria altifrons . friend , who was
exploring the ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015014112513

Category: Country life

Page:

View: 529

Download →

Posted in:

Tom Cringle s Log

George ' s ensign , white , with a red cross , while the sails of the gallant craft
seemed about the size of those of a little ... But , even as we looked forth on this
most glorious scene , a small black cloud rose to windward . At this time we were
both sitting on the grass on a most beautiful bank , beneath an orange - tree .

Author: Michael Scott

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B4105338

Category: Blacks

Page: 528

View: 887

Download →

Posted in:

Annual Report on the Meteorological Office

Black figures on a light blue background give freezing temperatures , i.e. below 0
° C . 25 ) Sunshine . The yellow symbol represents the sun ; the red figures in the
centre show a temperature of 25 ° C . Cloud . A white cloud symbol indicates ...

Author: Great Britain. Meteorological Office

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951D03532725W

Category: Meteorological services

Page:

View: 446

Download →

Posted in:

A Manual of British Coleoptera Or Beetles

M . iv . 33 . — Flattish ; black , with whitish clouds and spots above , beneath
wholly ashy - white : thorax with the disc and a spot on each side black , the
former with an interrupted whitish dorsal line ; elytra striated ; tarsi dull red . ( L .
11 - 2 l . ) ...

Author: James Francis Stephens

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:600036238

Category: Beetles

Page: 443

View: 436

Download →

Posted in:

Littell s Living Age

... the impassive negroes luckily not something more substantial , for with the
taking any particular notice of the white fall ... of sea as they and all around but
the great black cloud passed beneath her , and shortly the roar , and the white
tops of ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: IOWA:31858021774900

Category:

Page:

View: 636

Download →

Posted in:

Black White

From this point on Saint Paul's Buildings the distant view of the city subtended
beneath , rising to the sky - line , and , with ... In the mind's eye we see him
wrapped in black clouds , girt with a chilly wind , hurrying along over the lonely
sea .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UTEXAS:059171104202830

Category:

Page:

View: 562

Download →

Posted in:

Chasing The Monsoon

As the dark monsoon clouds gather over distant hills he stands on terrace of
palace, embracing his lover. Lightning has startled the white cranes and they are
flying wildly up into black sky. That peacock roosting beneath the terrace will
soon ...

Author: Alexander Frater

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 9780330542326

Category: Travel

Page: 273

View: 482

Download →

On 20th May the Indian summer monsoon will begin to envelop the country in two great wet arms, one coming from the east, the other from the west. They are united over central India around 10th July, a date that can be calculated within seven or eight days. Alexander Frater aims to follow the monsoon, staying sometimes behind it, sometimes in front of it, and everywhere watching the impact of this extraordinary phenomenon. During the anxious period of waiting, the weather forecaster is king, consulted by pie-crested cockatoos, and a joyful period ensues: there is a period of promiscuity, and scandals proliferate. Frater's journey takes him to Bangkok and the cowboy town on the Thai-Malaysian border to Rangoon and Akyab in Burma (where the front funnels up between the mountains and the sea). His fascinating narrative reveals the exotic, often startling, discoveries of an ambitious and irresistibly romantic adventurer.
Posted in:

Report

Black figures on a light blue background give freezing temperatures , i.e. below 0
° C . 00 ( 25 Sunshine . The yellow symbol represents the sun ; the red figures in
the centre show a temperature of 25 ° C . Cloud . A white cloud symbol ...

Author: Great Britain. Meteorological Office

Publisher:

ISBN: CHI:14091271

Category: Meteorology

Page:

View: 746

Download →

Posted in:

Historical Relics of the White Mountains

Betimes around these “ gray old piles of eternity ” rise heavy black clouds from
the four points of heaven , that shroud all “ tip - top ” in the darkness of night , and
cast gloomy shadows on the deep , wild gorges below . Then the invisible genius
 ...

Author: John H. Spaulding

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HNEBP6

Category: Meteorology

Page: 113

View: 872

Download →

Posted in:

Good Words and Sunday Magazine

I am ankle deep AT In another moment the moon -I hear the dry autumn wind -
dry passes behind the black clouds . The and yet ... of clouds . By the dim light
white and red laurel was wafted by the of stars I push on alone toward the sea . ...
Is it lay skilfully disposed beneath me on the clay , or is it sand beneath my feet ?

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: NWU:35556000746461

Category:

Page:

View: 717

Download →

Posted in: