Bone Sharps Cowboys and Thunder Lizards

In graphic novel format, the story of Edward Drinker Cope and Othniel Charles Marsh, two scientists who found and fought for the bones revealed when the railroad moved west.

Author: Jim Ottaviani

Publisher: G.T. Labs

ISBN: 0966010663

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 165

View: 410

Download →

In graphic novel format, the story of Edward Drinker Cope and Othniel Charles Marsh, two scientists who found and fought for the bones revealed when the railroad moved west.
Posted in:

Modern Masters Volume 15 Mark Schultz

Previous Page: Preliminary sketch for the cover of Bone Sharps, Cowboys and Thunder Lizards. That's Charles R. Knight holding the paint brushes.Though legally blind, Knight became renowned for his paintings of prehistoric creatures.

Author: Fred Perry

Publisher: TwoMorrows Publishing

ISBN: 9781893905856

Category: Art

Page: 112

View: 198

Download →

Using an interview format, discusses the life and career of comic book artist Mark Schultz, including his work on various Superman, Aliens, and Predator comics.
Posted in:

Graphic Embodiments

against the best-selling Feynman (2011); Bone Sharps, Cowboys, and Thunder Lizards: A Tale of Edward Drinker Cope, Othniel Charles Marsh, and the Gilded Age of Paleontology (2005) and Fallout: J. Robert Oppenheimer, Leo Szilard, ...

Author: Lisa DeTora

Publisher: Leuven University Press

ISBN: 9789462702677

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 211

View: 531

Download →

Comics and other graphic narratives powerfully represent embodied experiences that are difficult to express in language. A group of authors from various countries and disciplines explore the unique capacity of graphic narratives to represent human embodiment as well as the relation of human bodies to the worlds they inhabit. Using works from illustrated scientific texts to contemporary comics across national traditions, we discover how the graphic narrative can shed new light on everyday experiences. Essays examine topics that are easily recognized as anchored in the body as well as experiences like migration and concepts like environmental degradation and compassion that emanate from or impact on our embodied states. Graphic Embodiments is of interest to scholars and students across various interdisciplinary fields including comics studies, gender and sexuality studies, visual and cultural studies, disability studies and health and medical humanities.
Posted in:

Al Plastino Last Superman Standing

Zander has tackled quarrels between scoundrel paleontologists in Bone Sharps, Cowboys, and Thunder Lizards, and a look at the history of the space race in T-Minus: The Race to the Moon.

Author: Eddy Zeno

Publisher: TwoMorrows Publishing

ISBN: 9781605490663

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 112

View: 337

Download →

With a comics career dating back to 1941, including inking early issues of Captain America, Al Plastino was one of the last surviving penciler/inkers of his era. Laboring uncredited on Superman for two decades (1948-1968), he co-created Supergirl, Brainiac, and the Legion of Super-Heroes, drawing those characters’ first appearances, and illustrating the initial comics story to feature Kryptonite. He was called upon to help maintain the DC Comics house-style by redrawing other artists’ Superman heads, most notoriously on Jack Kirby’s Jimmy Olsen series, much to his chagrin. His career even included working on classic daily and Sunday newspaper strips like Nancy, Joe Palooka, Batman, and others. With a foreword by Paul Levitz, this book (by Eddy Zeno, author of Curt Swan: A Life In Comics) was completed just weeks before Al’s recent passing. In these pages, the artist remembers both his struggles and triumphs in the world of comics, cartooning and beyond. A near-century of insights shared by Al, his family, and contemporaries Allen Bellman, Nick Cardy, Joe Giella, and Carmine Infantino—along with successors Jon Bogdanove, Jerry Ordway, and Mark Waid—paint a layered portrait of Plastino’s life and career. And a wealth of illustrations show just how influential a figure he is in the history of comics.
Posted in:

Graphic Novels A Guide to Comic Books Manga and More 2nd Edition

... history of early dinosaur bone hunters; and Jay Hosler and his whimsical looks at science including the life cycle of a bee and the theories of Charles Darwin. Bone Sharps, Cowboys, and Thunder Lizards: A Tale of Edwin Drinker Cope, ...

Author: Michael Pawuk

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 9781440851360

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 719

View: 736

Download →

Covering genres from action/adventure and fantasy to horror, science fiction, and superheroes, this guide maps the vast and expanding terrain of graphic novels, describing and organizing titles as well as providing information that will help librarians to build and balance their graphic novel collections and direct patrons to read-alikes. • Introduces users to approximately 1,000 currently popular graphic novels and manga • Organizes titles by genre, subgenre, and theme to facilitate finding read-alikes • Helps librarians build and balance their graphic novel collections
Posted in:

The Bone Wars

Bone Sharps, Cowboys, and Thunder Lizards: A Tale of Edward Drinker Cope, Othniel Charles Marsh, and the Gilded Age of Paleontology. G. T. Labs, 2016. Websites Learn more about the amazing Mary Anning and more at this awesome site!

Author: Kelly Wittmann

Publisher: Gareth Stevens Publishing LLLP

ISBN: 9781538208212

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 48

View: 153

Download →

E. D. Cope and O. C. Marsh were 19th-century paleontologists whose friendship couldn’t withstand their professional rivalry. Their competitive natures led to the frenzied unearthing of hundreds of dinosaur fossils across North America, many of which can still be seen in museums around the world. The captivating tale of these scientists unfolds in this absorbing book, which also includes a timeline, sidebars, and fact boxes offering much information about paleontology, dinosaurs, and excavations as well as photographs and images to further elucidate essential science concepts.
Posted in:

Battle of the Dinosaur Bones

Bone Sharps, Cowboys, and Thunder Lizards:A Tale of Edward Drinker Cope, Othniel Charles Marsh, and the Gilded Age of Paleontology. Ann Arbor, MI: G. T. Labs, 2005. Paul, Gregory S. The Princeton Field Guide to Dinosaurs.

Author: Rebecca L. Johnson

Publisher: Twenty-First Century Books

ISBN: 9781467701419

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 64

View: 114

Download →

In the 1880s, science witnessed a major shift: Charles Darwin proposed his theory of evolution. People dug up the first dinosaur fossils. And the field of paleontology—the study of ancient plants and animals—emerged. Othniel Charles Marsh and Edward Drinker Cope became enthralled with these new ideas, discoveries, and developments. Both were determined to become world-famous paleontologists. When they met in 1863, they started off as friends. But within a few years, competition drove the men apart. Each fought bitterly to discover more fossils, name more species, and publish more papers than the other. In their haste to outdo each other, they both produced some shoddy work. The resulting confusion took many years to discover and correct, and their toxic relationship crippled the field of paleontology for decades afterward. However, the competition also produced a wealth of fossils. These laid a firm foundation for the field of paleontology and supported Darwin's theory of evolution. Marsh and Cope's discoveries generated keen public interest in prehistoric life and rich data for future generations of paleontologists. This book explores the great rivalry between Marsh and Cope, showing how it brought out the best and the worst in them—while bringing humankind a brand-new view of life on Earth.
Posted in:

Tooth and Claw

Bone Sharps, Cowboys, and Thunder Lizards: A Tale of Edward Drinker Cope. Othniel Charles Marsh, and the Gilded Age of Paleontology. Ann Arbor, Michigan: G.T. Labs, 2005. Schuchert, Charles and Clara M. LeVene.

Author: Deborah Noyes

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780425289860

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 160

View: 899

Download →

The tale of the epic rivalry between two foundational paleontologists to find bigger and better bones in the American West, perfect for readers of Steve Sheinkin and Candace Fleming. Today we take for granted the idea that dinosaurs once roamed the earth. But two hundred years ago, the very concept of an extinct species did not exist. When an English scientist proposed in 1841 that Dino Saurs ("terrible lizards") had come and gone, it was only a theory, a new way of explaining the "dragon" and "giant" bones scattered across the globe. But when proof turned up seventeen years later, it was not only incontrovertible; it was massive. Tooth and Claw tells the story of the feverish race between two brilliant, driven, and insanely competitive scientists--Edward Drinker Cope and Othniel Charles Marsh--to uncover more and more monstrous fossils in the newly opened Wild West. Between them, they discovered dozens of major dinosaur species and established the new discipline of paleontology in America. But their bitter thirty-year rivalry--a "war" waged on wild plains and mountains, in tabloid newsprint, and in Congress--dramatically wrecked their professional and private lives even as it brought alive for the public a vanished prehistoric world.
Posted in:

Home Learning Year by Year Revised and Updated

Bone Sharps, Cowboys, and Thunder Lizards Jim Ottaviani. G.T. Labs, 2005. A graphic novel account of the nineteenth-century battle between Edwin Drinker Cope and Othniel Marsh over dinosaur bones—and the many famous figures who were ...

Author: Rebecca Rupp

Publisher: Crown

ISBN: 9780525576976

Category: Education

Page: 576

View: 681

Download →

A comprehensive guide to designing homeschool curriculum, from one of the country’s foremost homeschooling experts—now revised and updated! Homeschooling can be a tremendous gift to your children—a personalized educational experience tailored to each kid’s interests, abilities, and learning styles. But what to teach, and when, and how? Especially for first-time homeschoolers, the prospect of tackling an annual curriculum can be daunting. In Home Learning Year by Year, Rebecca Rupp presents comprehensive plans from preschool through high school, covering integral subjects for each grade, with lists of topics commonly presented at each level, recommended resource and reading lists, and suggestions for creative alternative options and approaches. Included, along with all the educational basics, are techniques and resources for teaching everything from philosophy to engineering, as well as suggestions for dealing with such sensitive topics as sex education. Now revised throughout with all-new updates featuring the most effective and up-to-date methods and reading guides to homeschool your child at all ages, Home Learning Year by Year continues to be the definitive book for the homeschooling parent.
Posted in: