Cold in the Earth Mitchell Markby 3

The body hadn't, Markby noted with great relief, even started to decompose. The colour was good, not even that waxy white which bodies soon take on in water and where this body had been lying the groundheld plenty of moisture.

Author: Ann Granger

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780755377169

Category: Fiction

Page: 263

View: 234

Download →

Even the quaintest of villages has its perils... and deadly secrets that cannot be buried... Mitchell and Markby have to dig deep to find a murderer in Cold in the Earth, the third English village crime novel in Ann Granger's Mitchell & Markby series. The perfect read for fans of Ruth Rendell, Agatha Christie and ITV's Midsomer Murders. 'Set in the familiar mode of traditional country crime stories, there is nothing old-fashioned about the characters, who are drawn with a telling eye for their human foibles and frailties' - Oxford Times To Meredith Mitchell, marooned in a dusty London flat, the Cotswolds seem like a haven of peace and tranquillity. But Chief Inspector Markby has a rather different view of his native area, as he witnesses the bulldozing of one of his favourite boyhood haunts to make way for yet another housing estate. And when a man's body is found buried in the foundations of one of the plots his outlook turns even grimmer. The only cheering prospect on the horizon is Meredith's forthcoming visit. The dead man however remains a mystery: the labourer who dug up his body has disappeared and the farmers whose lands abut the burial site are little help. Charming, eccentric Mrs Carmody treats Markby, whom she has known since he was a boy, with fond familiarity and Mrs Winthrop at the neighbouring farm is happy to supply him with tea and scones but gives little else away. The time has come for someone with a different perspective to see what they can glean. And Meredith, blessed with an uncanny ability for ferreting out the truth, seems the obvious candidate. What readers are saying about Cold in the Earth: 'There are plenty of suspects in this well written murder mystery and some interesting historical background as well' 'A splendid story' 'Ann Granger, as always, breathes life into her characters and in this novel she also creates a threatening atmosphere'
Posted in:

Sequels

3. Cold in the Earth (St. martin's, 1993) house-sitting for Markby's sister in Bamford, Mitchell joins him in investigating the death of a man buried alive at a development site. 4. Murder among Us (St. martin's, 1993) The Society for ...

Author: Janet Husband

Publisher: American Library Association

ISBN: 9780838909676

Category: Language Arts & Disciplines

Page: 782

View: 275

Download →

A guide to series fiction lists popular series, identifies novels by character, and offers guidance on the order in which to read unnumbered series.
Posted in:

Bricks and Mortality Campbell Carter Mystery 3

... novels Asking For Trouble Keeping Bad Company Running Scared Risking It All Watching Out Mixing With Murder Rattling The Bones Mitchell and Markby crime novels Say It With Poison A Season For Murder Cold In The Earth Murder Among Us ...

Author: Ann Granger

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780755383764

Category: Fiction

Page: 252

View: 373

Download →

BRICKS AND MORTALITY is the third Cotswold village mystery by Ann Granger, featuring Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter. It is sure to appeal to fans of Midsomer Murders. In the cold light of dawn, a dead body is found entombed in the smouldering remains of a burnt-out Cotswold manor. Key House has stood empty for years, but its owner, Gervase Crown, is rumoured to have been seen in Weston St Ambrose prior to the blaze. Could he be responsible for the fire and the tragic death that followed, or was he in fact the intended target? As Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter begin their investigation it becomes clear that Gervase wasn't the most popular and his return reawakens old memories, not all of which are good.
Posted in:

The Whole Story

Author: John E. Simkin

Publisher: K G Saur Verlag Gmbh & Company

ISBN: UOM:49015003033363

Category: English literature

Page: 1198

View: 171

Download →

This work is the only comprehensive guide to sequels in English, with over 84,000 works by 12,500 authors in 17,000 sequences.
Posted in:

Sequels

Author: Janet Husband

Publisher: Amer Library Assn

ISBN: 0838906966

Category: Fiction

Page: 688

View: 906

Download →

Sequels, the most popular and long-lasting guide to novels in series, returns with greatly expanded series listings. Mysteries continue to be a mainstay, with fantasy, science fiction, and romance listings, plus non-genre fiction selections from authors such as Edward Abbey and Lawrence Durrell. The authors have carefully sifted through a growing group of series to select those most likely to be available in a medium-sized public library, weeding out esoteric, obscure, and less popular series. This classic reference includes hundreds of annotated series, title and subject indexes, and suggestions for reading order. Library professionals will find Answers to the perennial question, "What should I read next?" Guidance on the chronology of a series Easy-to-use tools to identify novels by character, setting, and author The definitive resource for novels in series Including series started since 1989 and updated through 2007, Sequels will be the most complete resource for general readers and library patrons as well as readers' advisors; public, university, and high school reference librarians; acquisition and collection management librarians; and even bookstore staff and book reviewers. The expanded Sequels, 4th edition, will become the RA and reference librarian's resource of choice
Posted in:

Detecting Women 2

1 - Inspector Alan Markby & Meredith Mitchell ... detective inspector & Foreign Service officer in Cotswolds , England Say It with Poison ( 1991 ) 2 A Season for Murder ( 1992 ) 3 Cold in the Earth ( 1993 ) 4 Murder Among Us ( 1993 ) 5 ...

Author: Willetta L. Heising

Publisher:

ISBN: 0964459310

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 297

Download →

Lists over 3,400 mystery titles written by women in correct series order, as well as more than 600 series detectives created by women and more. Titles are indexed by mystery type and series setting.
Posted in: