Maiden Voyage

He was usually easy going, soft spoken and well liked by everyone. Ferguson had a one-hundred percent safety rating and had been privileged for several years in being given command of each new ship for her maiden voyage, ...

Author: Tom Richter

Publisher: Maiden Voyage

ISBN: 9781412031004

Category: Fiction

Page: 94

View: 809

Download →

Titanic II suffers a collision on her maiden voyage. Sinking with half her lifeboats damaged, Captain Matt Ferguson hatches a desperate plan to keep history from being repeated.
Posted in:

A Maiden s Voyage

Climb aboard The Titanic this Christmas with the heart-warming Sunday Times bestseller Rosie Goodwin. Rosie GOODWIN A Maiden's Voyage SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER How far will she go to find happiness ? Rosie GOODWIN A Maiden's Voyage.

Author: Rosie Goodwin

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre Ltd.

ISBN: 9781785767562

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 364

Download →

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Blessed Child; perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Catherine Cookson. 'Goodwin is a master of her craft. The perfect book for a cold winter's evening' Lancashire Evening Post 'Goodwin is a fabulous writer' Worcester Evening News 'A vibrant page-turner with entrancing characters' Margaret Dickinson 'Rosie writes such heartwarming sagas' Lyn Andrews Thursday's child has far to go . . . 1912, London. Eighteen-year-old Flora Butler is going up in the world. She has the prized position of lady's maid to young Constance Ogilvie, and is able to provide for her beloved parents and four younger siblings. She has even fallen in love, and though she does not feel quite ready to marry the charming Jamie Branning, her future seems clear. But Flora's life is turned upside down when her mistress's father dies in a tragic accident. Connie is forced to move to New York to live with her aunt until she comes of age, and begs Flora to go with her. Flora has never left the country before, and now faces a difficult decision - give up her position, or leave her family behind. But when her beau lets her down, her mind is made up. Soon Connie and Flora head for Southampton to board the RMS Titanic ... A Maiden's Voyage is the fifth book in Rosie Goodwin's Days of the Week Collection. Why not try the rest, Mothering Sunday, The Little Angel, A Mother's Grace, The Blessed Child, A Precious Gift and Time to Say Goodbye?
Posted in:

A Box of Sand

Capitan of the White Marlin called it a 'Maiden Voyage'. Can you understand that?” “Yes,” I said, “I can understand what he meant and what you felt.” “Good mi amigo. If you really understand, then I can come to the point I was trying to ...

Author: Richard Rapp

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9781491755648

Category: Fiction

Page: 226

View: 972

Download →

Sam Brandeis is a desperate yet determined man when he makes a life-changing decision to leave his homeland where Cossacks are killing and raping Jews. After he and his wife, Eva, say their last prayer on the Sabbath from their shtetl, they escape with their young daughter on a ship bound for New York City, where Sam secures work and a home in Manhattan. After a horrible tragedy takes the life of a dear friend, Sam and Eva relocate to Brooklyn where he builds a successful business. As his family grows and Sam ages to become a grandfather for the first time, there is no question that Sam has realized the American dream. Richard Rapp spends his youth within the shadow of his grandfather’s wisdom, love, and genius, as their shared philosophies, hopes, and dreams for America and Palestine strengthen their kinship. When Richard turns twenty, he joins the struggle for an Israeli state despite his parents’ objections, where he soon finds love, his true identity, and a purpose he cannot wait to share with his grandfather. A Box of Sand is a historical tale based in part on real-life experiences as a young man is helped on his journey of self-discovery by the wisdom and strength of his grandfather.
Posted in:

Iron Maiden

A poster advertising Maiden's run of European shows, spring 2017. ... And he was a fan of the R.101, the zeppelin that crashed in France, on not its maiden voyage, but its maiden voyage overseas . . . no pun intended.

Author: Martin Popoff

Publisher: Voyageur Press

ISBN: 9780760360880

Category: Music

Page: 256

View: 223

Download →

Required reading for any metalhead, Iron Maiden is a compendium of in-depth, entertaining, and profusely illustrated conversations about all sixteen of the legendary metal band’s studio albums. This new book from prolific rock journalist Martin Popoff pays tribute to the Iron Maiden’s studio discography through a series of in-depth, frank, and entertaining conversations about all sixteen of the legendary heavy metal band’s studio albums. Inside, the author gathers together metal journalists, authors, and musicians, who offer insights, opinions, and anecdotes about every release. Together, the conversations comprise a unique historical overview of the band, covering everything from early albums with original lead singer Paul Di’Anno; the songwriting of founder and bassist Steve Harris; the impeccable talents of drummer Nicko McBrain and guitarists Dave Murray, Adrian Smith, and Janick Gers; mega tours undertaken in support of the LPs; fights within the band; and much more. Even their iconic mascot Eddie is sure to make an appearance or two! Popoff also includes loads of sidebars that provide complete track listings, details on album personnel, and information on where and when the albums were recorded. Every page is illustrated with thoughtfully curated performance and offstage photography, as well as rare memorabilia.
Posted in:

Zheng He s Maritime Voyages 1405 1433 and China s Relations with the Indian Ocean World

Bei— jing Review 28 (2005): 20—25. L111 Changbo WET? “thfiii * fifilfiili: iéfifiitifél'flih??? (The siX hundredth anniversary of Zheng He's maiden voyage: On Zheng He's naviga— tions). (Zhong waizazhi) 79.3 (2006):142—149.

Author:

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9789004281042

Category: History

Page: 226

View: 668

Download →

Zheng He’s Maritime Voyages (1405-1433) and China’s Relations with the Indian Ocean lists selected sources in thirteen languages and reflects global scholarship of Zheng He’s seven maritime expeditions and the early-modern communication network linking China and the Indian Ocean World.
Posted in:

Postbop Jazz in the 1960s

... High” (Dizzy Gillespie), 13, 14 Hancock, Herbie, 2–3, 8, 22–23, 39–40n17, 46–47n26, 53,57,118–19, 121, 138, 151,154–55 “Alone and I” (Takin' Off), 57 “Cantaloupe Island” (Empyrean Isles), 60n12 “Dolphin Dance” (Maiden Voyage), 21, ...

Author: Keith Waters

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780190604592

Category: Music

Page: 240

View: 169

Download →

Innovations in postbop jazz compositions of the 1960s occurred in several dimensions, including harmony, form, and melody. Postbop jazz composers such as Wayne Shorter, Herbie Hancock, and Chick Corea broke with earlier tonal jazz traditions. Their compositions marked a departure from the techniques of jazz standards and original compositions that defined small-group repertory through the 1950s: single-key orientation, schematic 32-bar frameworks (in AABA or ABAC forms), and tonal harmonic progressions. The book develops analytical pathways through a number of compositions, including "El Gaucho," "Penelope," "Pinocchio," "Face of the Deep" (Shorter); "King Cobra," "Dolphin Dance," "Jessica" (Hancock); "Windows," "Inner Space," "Song of the Wind" (Corea); as well as "We Speak" (Little); "Punjab" (Henderson); "Beyond All Limits" (Shaw). These case studies offer ways to understand their harmonic syntax, melodic and formal designs, and general principles of harmonic substitution. By locating points of contact among these postbop techniques-and by describing their evolution from previous tonal jazz practices-the book illustrates the syntactic changes that emerged during the 1960s.
Posted in:

The Pueblo Surrender

Here is the Pueblo crew, fresh over from the States, most of them never to sea before and on their maiden voyage, highly bored. They play poker around the clock. The voyage, according to Murphy, was “routine” with a “different feeling” ...

Author: Robert A. Liston

Publisher: Robert Liston

ISBN: 9780983182825

Category: History

Page:

View: 895

Download →

How the NSA manipulated the U.S. Navy, Pentagon, White House, Congress, tricked the North Koreans, Russians and Chinese, almost caused a war, and concealed the truth for over 40 years. On January 23, 1968, the North Koreans seized the U.S.S. Pueblo. The incident sent shock waves around the world-almost started a war-and has been the focus of controversy and contradiction ever since. Investigative reporter Robert Liston uncovered startling information to support a remarkable conclusion: The Pueblo was purposely surrendered in a covert mission conceived and carried out by the National Security Agency, a super-secret branch of U.S. intelligence. Liston produces documented evidence to show that the Pueblo, controlled by NSA operatives, was used as bait to draw the Soviet Union and Red Chinese into an NSA trap-an operation that enabled the NSA to break the Soviet system of codes, put the KGB on the defensive for years, and stop a possible war between the Soviets and Chinese. For the first time, author Liston brings to light a true story of international intrigue hidden from the American public, from Congress, even from the White House. He goes inside the U.S. intelligence apparatus and reveals how the Pueblo incident may have shaped and controlled American foreign policy and superpower politics for more than twenty years.
Posted in:

1000 Keyboard Ideas

The simplest voicing whether you're playing a standard or Herbie Hancock's " Maiden Voyage " - is to play the root with your left hand while playing a ma- jor triad a whole step below the root with your right hand , as in figure 1 .

Author: Ronald Herder

Publisher: Shacor, Inc.

ISBN: 0943748488

Category: Music

Page: 336

View: 738

Download →

The greatest tips and tricks used by professional musicians to create their unique sounds -- by the best experts in the field! Each section contains dozens of articles on the topics you want so you can browse at your heart's content, or choose just the information you are looking for! This book is a virtual encyclopedia of information on playing keyboards for more enjoyment and satisfaction.
Posted in:

British Mail Steamers to South America 1851 1965

... 76, 85, 88, 93 Akaroa , the 216 see also Amazon, the Alcantara , the 125,130,149,161,162, 191, 195, 210 built 124, 183 maiden voyage 148, 150 sinking 131 wartime service 172 withdrawal from service 194, 202 Almanzora , the 136, 147, ...

Author: Dr Robert E Forrester

Publisher: Ashgate Publishing, Ltd.

ISBN: 9781472416612

Category: History

Page: 273

View: 670

Download →

During the nineteenth century the British government and the Admiralty provided large subsidies to commercial companies to run international mail services. Concentrating on the service between Britain and South America, this book explores the economic, maritime and political aspects of the Royal Mail Lines company, which held contracts between 1851 and 1965, and reveals the impacts that a long-distance mail service had upon travel, trade, commerce and the changing patterns of global information exchange.
Posted in: