Paddy Machiavelli – How to Get Ahead in Irish Politics

An Entertaining and Irreverent History of Irish Politicians

Author: John Drennan

Publisher: Gill & Macmillan Ltd

ISBN: 071715808X

Category: Humor

Page: 224

View: 4927

DOWNLOAD →

The good, the bad and the cynical – how to get ahead in Irish politics It might appear strange that a 16th-century Italian political philosopher should provide us with a roadmap to political power in Ireland, but as John Drennan’s tongue-in-cheek account Paddy Machiavelli makes clear, the gap between the parish pump and the Renaissance palazzo is a narrow one indeed. In fact, observe the Irish body politic for long enough and the lines between the Florentine’s faceless hero and our own Dáil aristocrats begin to blur ever so slightly. A veteran of countless Leinster House power plays, Drennan takes inspiration from Machiavelli’s The Prince, dispensing invaluable advice for the aspiring politician, such as how to cultivate the cloak of being an ‘ordinary decent skin’, how to choose your scapegoats carefully, and how to be a straight-talker whilst embracing vagueness. This hilarious account of the compromises that the Irish politician has to make in order to seize power is not just a ‘celebration’ of the politics of cynical amorality; it’s a timely reminder of the role we play in choosing our leaders. In this wildly entertaining book, celebrated Sunday Independent columnist John Drennan is at his best. The definitive guide to success in Irish politics, Paddy Machiavelli will have you laughing and crying all the way to the ballot box. ‘Drennan’s storytelling style is stage Irish, and like a culchie Cicero, he laces his brilliance with bile. It is the politics of Paddy and in the tradition of Hall’s Pictorial Weekly via Craggy Island.’ Gerard Howlin, The Sunday Times ‘There is a fierce intelligence and fierce independence at work here. No one escapes his gimlet eye, and he brings to the whole bizarre ecosystem of the Dáil a unique perspective, that of the insider who remains resolutely outside.’ Brendan O'Connor, The Sunday Independent ‘If Paddy really wants to know the story, generally he asks Drennan first.’ Lise Hand, Irish Independent ‘Drennan is one of the best pundits in Ireland. He has an understanding of politics that is both instinctive and intellectual.’ Pat Leahy, The Sunday Business Post ‘[Drennan] reads the political game like the sort of bookie who always leaves Cheltenham with a full satchel.’ Ivan Yates, Newstalk

Skinner's Rules (Bob Skinner series, Book 1)

A gritty Edinburgh mystery of murder and intrigue

Author: Quintin Jardine

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755353838

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 8508

DOWNLOAD →

Edinburgh's hardest cop hunts a serial killer... The book that launched a legend: Skinner's Rules is the first novel in the bestselling Bob Skinner series by acclaimed author Quintin Jardine. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter James. 'Remarkably assured novel... a tour de force' - New York Times As head of Edinburgh's CID, Detective Chief Superintendent Bob Skinner has seen it all... but even he is shocked by the savagely mutilated corpse discovered in a dark alleyway. The victim is identified as a successful young lawyer, and the motive for the brutal death remains a mystery. Then further seemingly random killings in the city begin to suggest a vicious serial killer is on the rampage. But when the lawyer's fiancée is also murdered, Skinner realises that someone is in deadly earnest... What readers are saying about Skinner's Rules: 'Quintin Jardine is by far the best author of crime fiction I have ever read' 'Brilliant book, with strong characters who are likeable and believable. Well worth reading if you like crime thrillers that keep you on the edge of your seat' 'Quintin Jardin starts to build the rich character of Bob Skinner from the start, capturing the quintessence of both Edinburgh and a crime investigation... You'll pick it up and not put it down'

Skinner's Trail (Bob Skinner series, Book 3)

A gritty Edinburgh mystery of crime and murder

Author: Quintin Jardine

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755353552

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 7174

DOWNLOAD →

A gangland killing sets Edinburgh's police chief on a deadly quest... Skinner is on the trail of organised crime and a cold-blooded killer in Skinner's Trail, the gripping third novel in Quintin Jardine's bestselling crime series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and James Oswald. 'Engrossing, believable characters... captures Edinburgh beautifully... It all adds up to a very good read' - Edinburgh Evening News First the joyous birth of Skinner's son... then the grim reality of murder in one of Edinburgh's prosperous suburbs. A man has been found knifed in a luxury villa. The victim had run a chain of laundrettes, saunas and pubs throughout the city, but for some time the police suspected these to be the front for a drug distribution network. As the murder investigation continues without result, it seems the killer was particularly cunning in covering his tracks - leaving no clues or leads to pursue. But then another seemingly minor crime - involving property fraud - takes Assistant Chief Constable Bob Skinner in a new direction. Moving from Scotland to northern Spain, then back to a chilling climax in Edinburgh, this complex and suspenseful thriller follows a tortuous and bloodsoaked trail involving vice, corruption and the merchants of death... What readers are saying about Skinner's Trail: 'All Quintin Jardine's books are a must read, you are hooked from the very first page. I can't get enough of them!' 'I rate Quintin Jardine among the finest crime writers ever' 'Five stars'

Skinner's Round (Bob Skinner series, Book 4)

Murder and intrigue in a gritty Scottish crime novel

Author: Quintin Jardine

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755353560

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 3714

DOWNLOAD →

Can Edinburgh's hardest cop stay the course? Bob Skinner must challenge local beliefs and legends to solve a gruesome murder in Skinner's Round, the fourth instalment in Quintin Jardine's crime series. Perfect for fans of Ian Rankin and Peter May. 'An intriguing look at golf as big business, combined with Jardine's deft plotting and skilful writing, makes this another winning entry in an outstanding police procedural series' - Booklist A four-day tournament involving the world's leading golfers is being staged to mark the opening of a new country club created on the Marquis of Kinture's East Lothian estate. But on the previous Sunday afternoon, one of Kinture's business partners is found dead in his private jacuzzi in the clubhouse - with his throat cut. The next day an anonymous letter is received by the local newspaper, containing a fragment of a legendary witches' curse upon anyone who desecrates their place of worship. When a second murder occurs, this time by water, ACC Bob Skinner finds himself facing the most challenging case of his career... What readers are saying about Skinner's Round: 'Absolutely gripping' 'Best Bob Skinner story so far. I was kept gripped to the very end' 'What an ending'

O'Machiavelli

Or how to Survive in Irish Politics

Author: John O'Byrne

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Ireland

Page: 122

View: 6731

DOWNLOAD →

Paddy and Mr. Punch

Connections in Irish and English History

Author: R. F. Foster,Robert Fitzroy Foster

Publisher: Penguin Group USA

ISBN: 9780140171709

Category: History

Page: 382

View: 1206

DOWNLOAD →

Elizabeth Bowen, one of the writers considered in this book, described the relationship of Ireland and England as 'a mixture of showing-off and suspicion, nearly as bad as sex'. In these essays Roy Foster explores the patterns of resentment, exploitation, dependence and rejection which were created by centuries of proximity, colonization and emigration. Often seen through the individual experiences of people 'caught' between England and Ireland (a varied gallery including Randolph Churchill, Thackeray, Trollope, Yeats, Parnell and the notorious Mrs O'Shea), these intersections also cut across subjects like the representation of the Irish in Victorian journalism and fiction, the roots of constitutional nationalist agitation, and the making of literary reputations. The last essay, 'Marginal Men and Micks on the Make', is a wide-ranging discussion of the uses of exile, both to and from Ireland. Against the cut and dried stereotypes of Anglo-Irish relations, an overall ambiguity is asserted here, whether the topic examined is the flawed structure of the Act of Union, the way words are used in Irish political rhetoric, or the divided allegiances of Parnell, Yeats and Bowen. These closely linked essays stress assonances as well as dissonances, and provide a commentary on neglected aspects of literary history and national identity.

Paddy's Lament

Ireland 1846-1847 : Prelude to Hatred

Author: Thomas Michael Gallagher

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: Famines

Page: 345

View: 9468

DOWNLOAD →

Key Concepts in Philosophy

Author: Paddy McQueen,Hilary McQueen

Publisher: Palgrave MacMillan

ISBN: N.A

Category: Philosophy

Page: 262

View: 3969

DOWNLOAD →

Key Concepts in Philosophy is an accessible account of philosophical concepts, theories and key thinkers with an emphasis on recent developments in the field. Containing over 300 entries, the terms are ordered alphabetically and cross referenced for ease of use. Suggestions for further reading follow the explanations, encouraging further reflection and independent learning.