Paying the Ferryman

Wherever you went, he thought, you had to pay the ferryman. Nothing was free. Had someone asked him at that moment why he had killed his wife and beaten his son so badly that he might well not survive, what would he have replied?

Author: Jane A. Adams

Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd

ISBN: 9781780105765

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 396

Download →

The murder of a family forces former policewoman Naomi Blake to face her past Victor Griffin seemed to be one of the good guys, but that didn't stop someone coming to his home and killing him and his wife. The last act of Vic's life was to try and save his children: fifteen-month-old Jack, and his beloved stepdaughter, Sarah. But why were Vic and his wife shot dead? Why is there no record of them before they came to live in Ferrymouth three years ago? The one clue to their past is a business card, wedged between the pages of an almost empty address book. A card with Naomi's name on it. Naomi and Alec find themselves drawn back to face events that happened when Naomi was still a serving police officer - just before the accident that blinded her - and which have now led to murder.
Posted in:

The Ferryman

So, the Ferryman in Ruth's story, instead of taking a fare, was in fact paying for revenge. What a twist! Ruth had reconstructed certain parts of the legend, to suit her purpose and her cause. And had done it beautifully, Este marveled ...

Author: Shreya Ganguly

Publisher: Notion Press

ISBN: 9781685097288

Category: Fiction

Page: 252

View: 672

Download →

Every myth is a tale half-told… When the darkest of vice meets red-stained ice, we hear it all unfold! It is 2035 CE (covid era). Este, a disgraced and broken ex-intelligence officer, finds herself in the middle of a small isolated island community, frozen and barren— on the edge of the world, with the ‘virus’ at the core of its existing divisions. She has come here searching for a second chance, a chance to redeem herself from the demons of an unforgiving yet forgotten past. In doing that, as she tries hard to blend into this near-about dystopian world, she realises that subtle is scarce; ominous rituals, ‘handsome’ dead bodies, the flaring ‘mythical’ and a sinister Belief surround her, shadowing the darkness that is growing within her. Sleuthing skills, a favouring instinct and an overbearing empathy act as her only shield, as she navigates between the intrigues of this remote coastline and that of her mind, much desperate to untangle the meaning of her long-quested salvation. She is also confident. Perhaps a little too much. She thinks she has all the reins— of both probe and patriarchy. But nothing is as it seems. Not even her. She is much more than who she is… much more than she will ever know! Hence, when the land dangles a mirror in front of her, it is she who must choose. The End. Of her and of this story.
Posted in:

The Ferryman s Daughter

'Did you know Dad's not been paying the rent?' said Hester. Jimmy blinked. 'No, I thought not. So much for looking out for him. I've covered it for this time, but I can't do it again. I won't do it again. I've told Mr Bolsover that.

Author: Juliet Greenwood

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781409196587

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 109

Download →

'I absolutely loved it. Hester is one heck of a woman!' Heidi Swain 'A charming book seasoned with romance and a sprinkling of danger' Western Mail Can Hester help her family escape desperate poverty and fulfil her dreams? 1908: Hester always loved her mother best, her father had always been a hard man to like, spending more time (and money) in the local than with his family. After her mother's sudden death, followed by an injury forcing her father to give up his job as the ferryman, Hester is placed in the position of care-giver for her young brother and sister. As the years pass Hester must row the ferry night and day to keep them all from starvation, while her hopes of working in a kitchen and one day becoming a cook, slip further and further away. But just how far is Hester willing to go to make her dream a reality? And as the threat of war comes ever closer to the Cornish coast, will it bring opportunities or despair for Hester and her family? A gripping family saga perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry, Glenda Young and Mollie Walton. Escape to the Cornish coast and discover a strong woman who will do anything for her family and for her dreams... Readers are already falling in love with Hester: 'This was a superb read, and I thoroughly enjoyed every moment' Being Anne 'A sublime novel, written deftly, and with a keen attention to detail' Netgalley reviewer 'Lovely family saga book' Netgalley reviewer
Posted in:

It s Your Life Make the Most of it Here s How

The recipe for dealing with any change, loss or break-up How to deal with loss, break-up, and any change, wisely: With all changes comes mourning time, you have to pay the ferryman. What this means is you need to feel the sad feelings ...

Author: Julianna Krishna

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9781105875144

Category:

Page:

View: 724

Download →

Posted in:

Charles

But in time travel, instead of paying some chimp-faced tollbooth attendant, the toll fare is paid directly to a being by the name of the Ferryman ... You must simply pay the Ferryman to begin, re-enter, or exit your journey across time.

Author: Patrick Sean Kelley

Publisher: Page Publishing Inc

ISBN: 9781645848929

Category: Fiction

Page: 590

View: 412

Download →

Charles Albert MacDonald, born of Scottish descent in 1902, father of three, husband to one, WWII war-hero and grandfather—claimed to be many things that he was not. His true birth name was Carlos Alberto Roder, of Trujillo, Peru. Born to a large family of generational cane farmers where on a scorched slice of dusty earth, he grew up hard. And in the year of 1916, our young tough Carlos, a.k.a. Carlito, fell in love with perhaps the right girl, but most certainly the wrong daughter. The daughter to one Rafael Morales Torres, chief commissioner of the Peruvian Civil Guard, and in more intimate circles, known as just “El Jefe.” Carlito’s life was set to end well before he’d reached his seventeenth year. His flaunted love affair with El Jefe’s one precious daughter landing him in a black cell, cut deep beneath the great Inca Citadel of Machu Picchu. Until his father, four brothers, and a family burro named Sid, changed his life’s course forever. Once freed, Carlito was stowed aboard a tattered fishing schooner bound for the Republic of Costa Rica. Hidden away from the prying eyes of those who sought to take his fledgling life. Or so they’d thought. From Central America he traveled on across the sultry Caribbean Sea and into the vast cerulean bluster of the Atlantic Ocean. To stand upon Liberty Island in America’s New York Harbor. Huddled, tired and poor, yet free. Free to gaze upon Auguste Bartholdi’s Lady Liberty in all her glory. Where he’d step from a rusted, Irish-made steamer to start a new life under the name, Charles Albert MacDonald. His Peruvian roots and family all but forgotten. Left behind to become the bloodied prey of a new Peruvian order and El Jefe’s brutal rise to power. The girl that would one day be the mother of his child, left behind to perish in agony. To pay for their indiscretions from this life to the next within the callous hands of true evil—the hands of her adopted father—El Jefe. Charles discovered the many horrifying truths late in life, hollowing his soul, rendering him a broken man. Left to ponder endlessly over a myriad of “what if’s.” The demons of his past roaming freely within him, pulling and pushing at his sanity. But what if he could go back in time to right the wrongs he unwittingly set to motion? To rewrite his life’s tortured story? On the morning of August 28th, 1982, Charles Albert MacDonald passes on. But in an aberrant turn of events, well beyond the natural course of things, he’s given an “option.” A chance at the redemption he’d pleaded and begged for throughout his life. But as he’ll soon find out, true redemption has its price. You see, old scores never really die, they lie in wait, lurking hungerly in the shadow.
Posted in:

The Boneyard

Paying the Ferryman Dead water laps grey surface folds and gulls screech in vulture circles. Fight back tears, spiderweb mist and sweet perfume. No life, breath, hope, father and son, even the devil must pay the ferryman.

Author: Anthony Arnott

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9781291645293

Category: Poetry

Page: 102

View: 981

Download →

With The Boneyard, I have tried to cover the different stages of my poetry so far. From my early, somewhat experimental, pieces to the more recent wry observations of people, places and situations, this collection aims to give the reader a complete view of my work up until now. Drawing on poems from two previous collections, The Boneyard also includes previously unpublished pieces to create an eclectic mix, aiming to reflect my own need of trying something new and the reader wanting something a little different. Therefore, if you are interested in finding out about how, sometimes, life is harder than an end-of-level boss, are worried about a certain Spoiler Alertor, are wondering how I missed out on Free Hugs, then, read on, enjoy and read again. Poems are often better the second time around.
Posted in:

Paying the Ferryman

Author: Anson Montgomery

Publisher: Chooseco

ISBN: 1933390832

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 196

View: 113

Download →

Posted in:

A Treatise on the Law of Negligence

When the only possession and custody by the ferryman of a horse and carriage is , as in this case , that which necessarily results from the traveller's driving his horse and wagon on board the boat , and paying the usual ferriage ...

Author: Francis Wharton

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:35112104508256

Category: Negligence

Page: 836

View: 112

Download →

Posted in:

Laws of the State of New York

... and if any person or persons full refuse to pay to the ferryman for the time being , the rates and prices of ferriage , limited and ettablished by this act , the person or persons fo refusing , shall forfeit d pay to such ferryman ...

Author: New York (State)

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105064096956

Category: Law

Page: 554

View: 904

Download →

Posted in:

The Jewish Law Annual

Ritva opines that the reason the escapee is not obligated to pay the ferryman is not because he can claim “ I was merely fooling you ” , but rather because the ferryman is obligated to take him across the river anyway and can therefore ...

Author: Bernard S. Jackson

Publisher: Taylor & Francis

ISBN: 9057025515

Category: Religion

Page: 304

View: 223

Download →

Most bioethicists concern themselves with common law when considering the mores that inform practitioners operating in the framework of medical institutions. These questions are generally addressed from the perspective of secular ethics. Many Jewish physicians, however Contributors to this volume address medical issues such as organ transplantation, physician's fees, new reproductive technologies, informed consent, and medical confidentiality in the context of Jewish law. Jewish thought is presented as of great relevance to both the history of medical ethics and contemporary medico-legal issues. The volume concludes with a chronicle of Jewish Law in the State of Israel and a survey of recent literature.
Posted in: