Red Lily

Author: Nora Roberts

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101146745

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 4723

DOWNLOAD →

Three women learn that the heart of their historic home holds a mystery of years gone by, as #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts brings her In the Garden trilogy to a captivating conclusion. A Harper has always lived at Harper House, the centuries-old mansion just outside of Memphis. And for as long as anyone alive remembers, the ghostly Harper Bride has walked the halls, singing lullabies at night… Hayley Phillips came to Memphis hoping for a new start, for herself and her unborn child. She wasn’t looking for a handout from her distant cousin Roz, just a job at her thriving In the Garden nursery. What she found was a home surrounded by beauty and the best friends she’s ever had—including Roz’s son Harper. To Hayley’s chagrin, she has begun to dream about Harper—as much more than a friend… If Hayley gives in to her desire, she’s afraid the foundation she’s built with Harper will come tumbling down. And that wouldn’t be the only consequence, since her dreams are tangled up with Roz and the nursery. Hayley will have to put the past behind her to know her own heart again—and to decide whether she’s willing to risk it… Don't miss the other books in the In the Garden Trilogy Blue Dahlia Black Rose From the Trade Paperback edition.

The Red Lily

Author: Anatole France

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN: 1434485102

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 3765

DOWNLOAD →

The son of a bookseller, Jacques Anatole Francois Thibault (1844-1924) spent most of his life around books. His father's bookstore was called the Librairie de France, and from this name he took his nom-de plume, Anatole France."

The Red Lily Crown

Author: Elizabeth Loupas

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 1409052559

Category: Fiction

Page: 432

View: 3841

DOWNLOAD →

A compelling story of intrigue, passion, and murder in the Medici Court, from the author of The Flower Reader and The Second Duchess. Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Sarah Dunant. Florence, 1574 Fighting for survival in the teeming city of Florence, Chiara Nerini sets out to sell her dead father’s rare alchemical equipment. Instead she is imprisoned and forcibly initiated as a virgin acolyte by the alchemy-obsessed Prince Francesco, heir to the red lily crown of the Medici. Francesco believes her purity to be an essential element in his quest for eternal life. He will keep her in luxury, but his price is her freedom and a vow of celibacy that can be broken only by death. Chiara must seek a safe path through the labyrinth of Francesco’s deadly court. But to do so means to cast her lot with the mysterious English alchemist who calls himself Ruanno. Can Chiara trust him with her secrets... even her love... or will he prove to be her most treacherous enemy of all?

The Red Lily (Complete)

Author: Anatole France

Publisher: Library of Alexandria

ISBN: 1465605010

Category:

Page: N.A

View: 2562

DOWNLOAD →

She gave a glance at the armchairs placed before the chimney, at the tea-table, which shone in the shade, and at the tall, pale stems of flowers ascending above Chinese vases. She thrust her hand among the flowery branches of the guelder roses to make their silvery balls quiver. Then she looked at herself in a mirror with serious attention. She held herself sidewise, her neck turned over her shoulder, to follow with her eyes the spring of her fine form in its sheath-like black satin gown, around which floated a light tunic studded with pearls wherein sombre lights scintillated. She went nearer, curious to know her face of that day. The mirror returned her look with tranquillity, as if this amiable woman whom she examined, and who was not unpleasing to her, lived without either acute joy or profound sadness. On the walls of the large drawing-room, empty and silent, the figures of the tapestries, vague as shadows, showed pallid among their antique games and dying graces. Like them, the terra-cotta statuettes on slender columns, the groups of old Saxony, and the paintings of Sevres, spoke of past glories. On a pedestal ornamented with precious bronzes, the marble bust of some princess royal disguised as Diana appeared about to fly out of her turbulent drapery, while on the ceiling a figure of Night, powdered like a marquise and surrounded by cupids, sowed flowers. Everything was asleep, and only the crackling of the logs and the light rattle of Therese's pearls could be heard. Turning from the mirror, she lifted the corner of a curtain and saw through the window, beyond the dark trees of the quay, the Seine spreading its yellow reflections. Weariness of the sky and of the water was reflected in her fine gray eyes. The boat passed, the 'Hirondelle', emerging from an arch of the Alma Bridge, and carrying humble travellers toward Grenelle and Billancourt. She followed it with her eyes, then let the curtain fall, and, seating herself under the flowers, took a book from the table. On the straw-colored linen cover shone the title in gold: 'Yseult la Blonde', by Vivian Bell. It was a collection of French verses composed by an Englishwoman, and printed in London. She read indifferently, waiting for visitors, and thinking less of the poetry than of the poetess, Miss Bell, who was perhaps her most agreeable friend, and whom she almost never saw; who, at every one of their meetings, which were so rare, kissed her, calling her "darling," and babbled; who, plain yet seductive, almost ridiculous, yet wholly exquisite, lived at Fiesole like a philosopher, while England celebrated her as her most beloved poet. Like Vernon Lee and like Mary Robinson, she had fallen in love with the life and art of Tuscany; and, without even finishing her Tristan, the first part of which had inspired in Burne-Jones dreamy aquarelles, she wrote Provencal verses and French poems expressing Italian ideas. She had sent her 'Yseult la Blonde' to "Darling," with a letter inviting her to spend a month with her at Fiesole. She had written: "Come; you will see the most beautiful things in the world, and you will embellish them."
Posted in:

The Red Lily

Author: Juliette Cross

Publisher: Entangled: Amara

ISBN: 1633759415

Category: Fiction

Page: 250

View: 8157

DOWNLOAD →

“There’s no sophomore slump in this dark fairy tale adventure series! [...] Fans of Kelley Armstrong will find a similar blend of horror and legend, with a bonus romance.” ~RT Book Reviews, Top Pick The Black Lily resistance needs a larger army if they are to defeat the vampire monarchy. In order to do so, former lieutenant and traitor to the vampire Crown, Nikolai must seek help from the red-hooded temptress he needs to avoid at all costs. The secret he carries could prove dangerous for her if she gets too close...even though keeping her close—very close—is the only thing on his mind. Sienna will do anything for the Black Lily, and when Nikolai asks for her assistance to gain the trust of the commonwealth, it’s the last thing she wants to do. The thought of leaving her woods and her wolves behind is terrifying...not to mention the danger being with Nikolai poses. Each book in the Vampire Blood series is a standalone story that can be enjoyed out of order. Series Order: Book #1 The Black Lily Book #2 The Red Lily Book #3 The White Lily

Widger's Quotes and Images from The Red Lily by Anatole France

The French Immortals: Quotes and Images

Author: Anatole France

Publisher: Good Press

ISBN: N.A

Category: Fiction

Page: 212

View: 9964

DOWNLOAD →

"Widger's Quotes and Images from The Red Lily by Anatole France" by Anatole France. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.