Slaying the Red Slayer

“That is developed shortly in the report,” Major Grusev replied. “Well then, let us continue.” CHAPTER 3—EIRST CONDUCTOR “[ft/oe Red Slayer t/oz'n/e he slays, ” 22 Slaying the Red Slayer (Second Edition)

Author: Bob Garland

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9780595181018

Category: Fiction

Page: 214

View: 591

Download →

An elegant, intricate mystery, which is seldom what it seems to be. During the 1960's, the young Humboldt S. Prior, nominally a computer specialist, but actually an involuntary agent of a little-known US intelligence service, is projected into Latin America to contact a long-concealed war criminal, who is a needed expert on neurological warfare. There Prior becomes entangled in a web of vengeance, treachery, and repeated murders. Fearful enemies and weapons, each more deadly then the last, menace Prior as he strives to accomplish his mission and live to tell of it. North and South Americans, Nazis, Israelis, and German aristocrats surround Prior in deceit and savage conflict. To survive and succeed he must select from the best of these competing forces, and align himself with them, and in doing so find success and the potential of great happiness and a new future. The story ends with a final jolt of uncertainty and mystery.
Posted in:

Slaying the Red Slayer Second Edition

The story ends with a final jolt of uncertainty and mystery.

Author: Bob Garland

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9781469766942

Category: Fiction

Page: 228

View: 364

Download →

An elegant, intricate mystery, which is seldom what it seems to be. During the 1960's, the young Humboldt S. Prior, nominally a computer specialist, but actually an involuntary agent of a little-known US intelligence service, is projected into Latin America to contact a long-concealed war criminal, who is a needed expert on neurological warfare. There Prior becomes entangled in a web of vengeance, treachery, and repeated murders. Fearful enemies and weapons, each more deadly then the last, menace Prior as he strives to accomplish his mission and live to tell of it. North and South Americans, Nazis, Israelis, and German aristocrats surround Prior in deceit and savage conflict. To survive and succeed he must select from the best of these competing forces, and align himself with them, and in doing so find success and the potential of great happiness and a new future. The story ends with a final jolt of uncertainty and mystery.
Posted in:

The House of the Red Slayer

'The old Red Slayer has returned and more will die. ... 'Slay! Slay! Slay!' he chanted. 'Go away!' Cranston barked. 'Sod off, you little bugger!' Red Hand turned and ran, the blood from the freshly killed chicken spraying the greying ...

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Canelo

ISBN: 9781788638890

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 691

Download →

In a city seething with discontent, an ancient grudge is about to be settled. December, 1377. As London prepares for Christmas, a great frost has the city in its icy grip; even the Thames is frozen from bank to bank. The Constable of the Tower of London, Sir Ralph Whitton, is found murdered in a cold bleak chamber. The door is still locked from the inside and guarded by trusted retainers. So how did the assassin get in? Brother Athelstan and Sir John Cranston are ordered to investigate. They soon discover that the murder is only the first in a series of macabre killings, which have their roots in a terrible act of betrayal... A vivid, blood-curdling portrayal of medieval London, this is historical mystery writing at its best, perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and S. J. Parris. Praise for Paul Doherty 'A vivid, intricately crafted whodunnit' Publishers Weekly 'Paul Doherty has a lively sense of history' New Statesman
Posted in:

The religion of old glory

Yet if the red slayer think he slay, in course of time, divining rather than discovering the mysteries of kinship, he knows also that the blood he sheds is after all his own. The courage of the slain enemy is coveted.

Author: W.N. Guthrie

Publisher: Рипол Классик

ISBN: 9781178236354

Category: History

Page:

View: 758

Download →

Posted in:

Metaphysics

If the red slayer think he slays, Or ifthe slain think he is slain, They know not well the subtle ways I keep, ... Therefore (and this is the result of the long conversation), O prince, fear not, care not, strike boldly, slay.

Author: Josiah Royce

Publisher: SUNY Press

ISBN: 9781438418148

Category: Philosophy

Page: 346

View: 582

Download →

An edited transcript of the great Harvard philosopher Josiah Royce's last year-long course in metaphysics, given at Harvard in 1915-1916.
Posted in:

Tradedown

As an author, he follows the tradition of early 20th century mystery writers. His previously published novels are Derff/inger (1979 and 2001), RLF? 37E (2000), Slaying the Red Slayer (2001 ), and The Elephant Mask (2004).

Author: Bob Garland

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9780595823185

Category: Fiction

Page: 236

View: 557

Download →

The fifth Humboldt Prior mystery is a story of economic greed, murder, intellectual racism, and more murder. A casualty of a traumatic, Silicon Valley corporate takeover, Humboldt Prior, now 60 years old, relocates to his midwestern hometown, where he has been offered a position as a university lecturer on information technology. There he finds himself entwined in a pair of mysterious crimes, one scientific, and one financial, and both leading to murder. At the request of high government officials, Prior acts alone, unknown to his college and local police authorities. His only help comes from his long-ago experience in secret intelligence, certain distant friends in the old European aristocracy, and an attractive female geology professor. Confronting both new and old enemies, Prior must solve the intricate mysteries and bring the culprits to ingenious and well-deserved justice.
Posted in:

The Elephant Mask

The Fourth Humboldt Prior Mystery Bob Garland. The Elephant Mask Also by Bob Garland Slaying the Red Slayer Derfflinger R.I.P..

Author: Bob Garland

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 0595307299

Category: Fiction

Page: 232

View: 377

Download →

The Elephant Mask is the fourth Humboldt Prior Mystery. Now an aging executive of a troubled computer company, Prior is given responsibility for a promising new project that applies computer science to Latin American archeology. From the ruins of the ancient Moche people, the project surfaces the strange problem of the Elephant Mask and then nearly dissolves in a mysterious triple assassination.Prior travels to Lima, Peru to try to salvage the project. There, he is entangled by unscrupulous enemies, unpredictable old friends, and the assets and liabilities of his distant past.In Peru, New York, and San Francisco, Prior must weave his way through a maze of attempted seduction, trickery and betrayal, further killings, and cutting edge software technology. To survive, he must solve the triple problem of the murders, the underlying crime, and the age-old mystery of the Elephant Mask. Beneath an enormous relic of military technology, the story ends in an unexpected, ghastly execution, and more of Prior's past reaches out to him.
Posted in:

Derfflinger Second Edition

The Second Humboldt Prior Mystery Bob Garland. Also by Bob Garland Slaying the Red Slayer R.I.P. 37E DERFFLINGER (SECOND EDITION) The Second Humboldt Prior Mystery Bob Garland.

Author: Bob Garland

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9781462097227

Category: Fiction

Page: 200

View: 914

Download →

The second Humboldt Prior mystery, in which sunken warships, super computers, archaic weapons, and stolen treasure encompass Prior, now a corporate executive, in a web of ancient treachery, in which help may not be help, friends may not be friends, and success may not be success. A seemingly routine request made in the course of a seemingly routine business trip require that Humboldt Prior make his way through a network of intrigue reaching the highest levels of government and business. Action swirls from New York to London and from there to the misty north of Great Britain. Repeated attempts on Prior's life require him to recall his distant past, receive aid from unexpected sources, and to exact his own toll of destruction. The story ends in an explosion of violence and with an epilog of further deception.
Posted in:

R I P 37E

The Third Humboldt Prior Mystery Bob Garland. q J 'JIVI PI“. L a wa a' .Also by Bob Garland Slaying the Red Slayer Derfflinger. Front Cover.

Author: Bob Garland

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9781462097258

Category: Fiction

Page: 224

View: 408

Download →

Humboldt Prior, computer manufacturing executive, returns to his Midwestern hometown and finds himself dangerously enmeshed in a decades-old turmoil of murder, arson, and political malfeasance involving members of one of the City's most prominent families. Protests erupt over the construction of an urban Interstate Freeway and Prior's company is wrongfully implicated in the construction plans. Prior forms an alliance with Julie Harrington, the State Highway Commissioner. His investigation reveals evidence of further crimes and Prior's mysterious distant history returns to confront him. After many episodes of peril and suspense, Prior and Harrington solve the mystery, but Prior must face a future drawn from his past with promise of more mystery and great opportunity.
Posted in:

G t rthasa graha

S. Radhakrishnan draws comparison with the following lines from Emerson's Brahma : If the red slayer thinks he slays , Or if the slain think he is slain , They know not well the subtle ways I keep and pass and turn again .

Author: Abhinavagupta (Rājānaka.)

Publisher: Brill Archive

ISBN: 9004067361

Category: Bhagavadgītā

Page: 224

View: 898

Download →

Posted in: