The Book of Lost Things

A Novel

Author: John Connolly

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 0743298853

Category: Fiction

Page: 339

View: 6558

DOWNLOAD →

Taking refuge in fairy tales after the loss of his mother, twelve-year-old David finds himself violently propelled into an imaginary land in which the boundaries of fantasy and reality are disturbingly melded. By the author of The Black Angel. 75,000 first printing.

Mister Max: The Book of Lost Things

Mister Max 1

Author: Cynthia Voigt

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 0307976831

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 384

View: 4675

DOWNLOAD →

Max's parents are missing. They are actors, and thus unpredictable, but sailing away, leaving Max with only a cryptic note, is unusual even for them. Did theyintend to leave him behind? Have they been kidnapped? Until he can figure it out, Max feels it's safer to keep a low profile. Hiding out is no problem for a child of the theater. Max has played many roles, he can be whoever he needs to be to blend in. But finding a job is tricky, no matter what costume he dons. Ironically, it turns out Max has a talent for finding things. He finds a runaway child, a stray dog, a missing heirloom, a lost love. . . . So is he a finder? A detective? No, it's more. Max finds a way to solve people's problems—he engineers better outcomes for them. He becomes Mister Max, Solutioneer. Now if only he could find a solution to his own problems . . .

The Book of Lost Things

Author: Kevin Tumlinson

Publisher: Happy Pants Books

ISBN: 9781393321118

Category:

Page: 720

View: 6548

DOWNLOAD →

Dr. Dan Kotler has a talent for tracking down unusual and cryptic history that would otherwise be lost to time. An archaeologist with a knack for reading people and putting together the pieces of a scattered and mysterious past, Kotler is recruited by the FBI as part of its new Historic Crimes Division. He and his partner, Agent Roland Denzel, face every danger that history and mythology can throw at them--to keep powerful objects and ancient secrets from falling into the hands of those who would use them to rule the world. This collection combines Books 1-3 of the Dan Kotler Archaeological Thrillers. For more, visit the author at kevintumlinson.com/books.
Posted in:

The Book of Lost Things Illustrated Edition

Author: John Connolly

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1844568415

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 9873

DOWNLOAD →

'Once upon a time, there was a boy who lost his mother . . .' As twelve-year-old David takes refuge from his grief in the myths and fairytales so beloved of his dead mother, he finds the real world and the fantasy world begin to blend. That is when bad things start to happen. That is when the Crooked Man comes. And David is violently propelled into a land populated by heroes, wolves and monsters, his quest to find the legendary Book of Lost Things.

The Summer of Lost Things

Author: Chantele Sedgwick

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 1510743847

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 272

View: 2486

DOWNLOAD →

New town, new friends, new guy . . . and an old bucket list. The past haunts the present in the newest installation in the Love, Lucas universe. After her dad is sentenced to prison time, seventeen-year-old Lucy Nelson and her mother move across the country to start over in the town—and farmhouse—where her mother grew up. Once settled, Lucy is determined to keep her mind off anything “real” and decides to pass the time by reading a stack of her mother’s childhood books, which has sat in her grandmother’s home for decades. When Lucy finds her mom’s old summer bucket list shoved between the pages of a worn copy of Anne of Green Gables, she’s eager to write her own list to escape her inevitable summer boredom. Feeling brave, she fills it with challenges she’d never normally do and also adds the one thing that her mother had never crossed off the original list: Visit Susan’s grave. When Lucy befriends Mira and her handsome cousin, Jack, she begins to feel almost normal as they help check off her list. When she asks her mother about Susan, she refuses to talk about her. As Lucy falls for Jack, she yearns to tell him the truth about her dad and her old life but lies about everything instead. When her friends see through the lies and her mom reaches her breaking point over questions about Susan, Lucy must learn to trust her friends, try to bring peace to her mother, and to somehow find the courage to forgive her dad.

Mister Max

The Book of Lost Things

Author: Cynthia Voigt

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 9781484434833

Category: Problem solving

Page: 400

View: 6257

DOWNLOAD →

When Max's parents leave the country without him, he must rely on his wits to get by, and before long he is running his own--rather unusual--business.

The Train of Lost Things

Author: Ammi-Joan Paquette

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1524739405

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 208

View: 5162

DOWNLOAD →

A magical story about a boy's love for his dying father and his journey to the mythic Train of Lost Things, where beloved lost objects are rescued and protected until they can be returned. Perfect for fans of The Phantom Tollbooth, The Bridge to Terabithia, and Lost in the Sun. Marty cherishes the extra-special birthday present his dad gave him -- a jean jacket on which he's afixed numerous buttons -- because it's a tie to his father, who is sick and doesn't have much time left. So when his jacket goes missing, Marty is devastated. When his dad tells him the story of the Train of Lost Things, a magical train that flies through the air collecting objects lost by kids, Marty is sure that the train must be real, and that if he can just find the train and get his jacket back, he can make his dad better as well. It turns out that the train is real -- and it's gone out of control! Instead of just collecting things that have been accidentally lost, the train has been stealing things. Along with Dina and Star, the girls he meets aboard the train, Marty needs to figure out what's going on and help set it right. As he searches for his jacket, and for a way to fix the train, Marty begins to wonder whether he's looking for the right things after all. And he realizes that sometimes you need to escape reality in order to let it sink in. In this achingly beautiful adventure, it is the power of memories, and the love between a father and son, that ultimately save the day. Praise for The Train of Lost Things: "Paquette writes with compassion and a childlike sense of belief, and Marty's journey--both personal and fantastic--will speak to readers on many levels." --Booklist "Marty's inner dialogue will appeal to readers of Gordon Korman, Jeff Kinney, and Dav Pilkey." --School Library Journal "Marty's pain at the imminent loss of his father is keenly felt, and Paquette deftly balances the emotional weight of his fear and grief with his fantasy journey on a train flying through the universe." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Kids everywhere can relate to the sorrow of losing a cherished item, giving this narrated adventure story a wide appeal [and] readers will connect with the unconditional love and hope that exists between parent and child." --School Library Connection

The Keeper of Lost Things

Author: Jamie Campbell

Publisher: Jamie Campbell

ISBN: N.A

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 300

View: 6397

DOWNLOAD →

Someone lost her a long time ago. Do you ever wonder what happens to all the things that are lost? Em Gabrielle does. Not only does she think about it, it is her obsession. Finding and rescuing objects everyone else loses is the only thing keeping the sixteen year old going. When the father that walked out on her ten years earlier is suddenly reported missing, Em tries to resist the urge to find him. After all, he is just another lost thing, right? As she delves deeper and deeper into the case, she quickly works out that the stakes in this case are higher than ever. Finding the lost thing has never been so personal or difficult before. If Em finds her father, does that mean she can be found too? In the first of the Keeper Series, meet the first of the damaged residents of Lakeside. You might never think the same way about things again. Also in the Keeper Series: The Keeper of Lost Things The Keeper of Secret Things The Keeper of Broken Things

The Library of Lost Things

Author: Laura Taylor Namey

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 1488051356

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 304

View: 9193

DOWNLOAD →

Fangirl meets Jane Austen in this deeply heartfelt love story about hiding the worst parts of ourselves, and the people who love us anyway. “How could I open that door and let him see the messiest part of me?” From the moment she first learned to read, literary genius Darcy Wells has spent most of her time living in the worlds of her books. There, she can avoid the crushing reality of her mother’s hoarding and pretend her life is simply ordinary. But then Asher Fleet, a former teen pilot with an unexpectedly shattered future, walks into the bookstore where she works…and straight into her heart. For the first time in her life, Darcy can’t seem to find the right words. Fairy tales are one thing, but real love makes her want to hide behind her carefully constructed ink-and-paper wall. Still, after spending her whole life keeping people out, something about Asher makes Darcy want to open up. But securing her own happily-ever-after will mean she’ll need to stop hiding and start living her own truth—even if it’s messy. “A lovely tale for bookish readers that will give them all the feels.” —Kirkus

The Luster of Lost Things

Author: Sophie Chen Keller

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 0735210802

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 3446

DOWNLOAD →

In this story for readers of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and A Man Called Ove, when all seems lost, he finds what matters most. Walter Lavender Jr. is a master of finding. A wearer of high-tops. A maker of croissants. A son keeping vigil, twelve years counting. But he wouldn’t be able to tell you. Silenced by his motor speech disorder, Walter’s life gets lonely. Fortunately, he has The Lavenders—his mother’s enchanted dessert shop, where marzipan dragons breathe actual fire. He also has a knack for tracking down any missing thing—except for his lost father. So when the Book at the root of the bakery’s magic vanishes, Walter, accompanied by his overweight golden retriever, journeys through New York City to find it—along the way encountering an unforgettable cast of lost souls. Steeped in nostalgic wonder, The Luster of Lost Things explores the depths of our capacity for kindness and our ability to heal. A lyrical meditation on why we become lost and how we are found, from the bright, broken heart of a boy who knows where to look for everyone but himself.