The Dangers of an Ordinary Night

The Dangers of an Ordinary Night by Lynne Reeves Author Interview Q: The Dangers of an Ordinary Night deals with the impact of addiction on marriage and family life. As a school and family counselor, why did you choose to write about ...

Author: Lynne Reeves

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

ISBN: 9781643858661

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 824

Download →

Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Megan Abbott, Lynne Reeves' The Dangers of an Ordinary Night is an exploration of the explosive family secrets that are often hidden in plain sight. On a chilly fall evening at the prestigious Performing Arts High School of Boston, best friends Tali Carrington and June Danforth go missing after auditioning for a play. They're last seen in grainy, out-of-focus surveillance footage that shows them walking away from the school. Two days later in a town south of Boston, Tali is found disoriented and traumatized by the ocean's edge, while June is pronounced dead at the scene. Tali's mother, Nell, is so bent on protecting her daughter from further emotional harm that she ignores rumors of her husband’s involvement and enlists the help of Cynthia Rawlins, a reunification therapist with personal insight into the riptide that hides below the surface of every unsuspecting family. Meanwhile, Detective Fitz Jameson uncovers a criminal undertow involving the high school’s overachieving students, and finally sees an opportunity for personal redemption from a secret that’s haunted him for years. As Nell, Cynthia, and Fitz confront their own contributions to the scandals that beleaguer them, their lives turn out to be more deeply intertwined than they'd ever imagined. In the end, they must decide what lengths they're willing to go to protect the people they love while also saving themselves.
Posted in:

Danger in the Dark

We stopped a moment in the upper hall, and he said good night and turned and went down the hall to his room. ... “Did no one else hear any sound during the night?” Again no one had. ... Why, he wore ordinary evening clothes. Tails.

Author: Mignon G. Eberhart

Publisher: Overamstel Uitgevers

ISBN: 9789049984489

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 105

Download →

On the eve of her wedding night, a bride-to-be loses her fiancé Dennis comes home as soon as he learns that Daphne is about to marry. Though they are both Havilands, raised in the same house, she is no more than a distant cousin, not related by blood, and he has loved her since they were young. He arrives in Chicago the night before the wedding, determined to stop her from giving Ben Brewer her hand. Their passion flares, and she agrees to meet him that night to plan their future together. Both lovers arrive in time for the rendezvous, but there is another surprise: Brewer’s bloody corpse. The evidence against Dennis and Daphne is insurmountable. Fight as they may to evade police suspicion, the hangman’s noose slips ever tighter around their necks. They are finally together—but will they be joined for eternity at the altar, or the gallows?
Posted in:

Jewish quarterly review

Naḥmanides relates the warning to stay indoors to the dangers attendant on God's appearance in Egypt ( based on Zech ... is preceded by the lemma pa 79 , which thus separates even more decisively the theme of ordinary nighttime danger ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B3811648

Category:

Page:

View: 338

Download →

Posted in:

Minutes of Proceedings of the Institution of Civil Engineers

The dangers within this comparatively small space should , therefore , be diminished as much as possible , as the ... The band of light from each shore being fully able , on ordinary nights , to reach at least half across the river ...

Author: Institution of Civil Engineers (Great Britain)

Publisher:

ISBN: PRNC:32101050732328

Category: Civil engineering

Page: 500

View: 148

Download →

Vols. 39-214 (1874/75-1921/22) have a section 2 containing "Other selected papers"; issued separately, 1923-35, as the institution's Selected engineering papers.
Posted in:

The Dangers of the Metropolis A Sermon on Ps Lv 10 11 Etc

DAY AND NIGHT THEY GO ABOUT UPON THE WALLS . ... ALTHOUGH temptation , in its various forms , be incidental to all conditions of life , there are certain situations , unfortunately beset with a more than ordinary share of it .

Author: Johnson GRANT

Publisher:

ISBN: BL:A0021744269

Category:

Page:

View: 102

Download →

Posted in:

Lawyers Reports Annotated

... and that with ordinary care to couple said car at night by direction of his in loading , such projection would have ... to consider such a coupunder the direction of such conductor , placed ling as coming within the ordinary hazards ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:35112203987351

Category: Law reports, digests, etc

Page:

View: 556

Download →

Posted in:

The Sanitary Record

The ordinary nightsoil barrow with which I am connected my apparatus is employed as holds about 2 cwt . ... and will , I that a ton of nightsoil can be placed in the cart in somebelieve , much minimise the dangers of a vitiated ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HC3VLT

Category:

Page:

View: 164

Download →

Posted in:

The Southern Reporter

... presumption that at night , having the plaintiff and a Mr. Fahs the way is safe for ordinary travel , even at night , and he is not required to be on the lookout as his guests in the car , he ran into the for extraordinary dangers ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: SRLF:D0001670256

Category: Law reports, digests, etc

Page:

View: 797

Download →

Posted in:

Hoax

Donald Trump, Fox News, and the Dangerous Distortion of Truth Brian Stelter ... The following night he screeched, “This is Watergate times a thousand. ... But this was just an ordinary night in the pro-Trump alternative universe.

Author: Brian Stelter

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781982142469

Category: Political Science

Page: 254

View: 693

Download →

The instant New York Times bestseller that reveals the collusion between Fox News and Donald Trump—with explosive new reporting covering the election and the January 6 riot. As the nation recovers from the Trump presidency, many questions remain: Why was the COVID-19 pandemic so grossly mishandled? How did we get so politically polarized? What caused white nationalist groups to come out of the shadows, and are they here to stay? The answers lie the twisted story of the relationship between Donald Trump and Fox News. Through firsthand accounts from over 250 current and former Fox insiders, CNN anchor and chief media correspondent Brian Stelter unlocks the inner workings of Rupert Murdoch’s multibillion-dollar media empire. The confessions are shocking: “We don’t really believe all this stuff,” a producer says. “We just tell other people to believe it.” Stelter completes the story of the Trump years and looks toward the future of the network that made him. Hoax is a book for anyone who reads the news and wonders how we got here, and what happens next.
Posted in:

The Ladies Repository

He entered into an argument to President lay , for the first night , before the blazing show that the issue of these ... “ His manner was firm , his air and comfortless tent ; amid the perils of Indian barmajestic , and his language ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433104825736

Category:

Page:

View: 360

Download →

Posted in: