The Enemy in the Household

Family Violence in Deuteronomy and Beyond

Author: Caryn A. Reeder

Publisher: Baker Books

ISBN: 1441236198

Category: Religion

Page: 224

View: 9378

DOWNLOAD →

This fresh approach to troubling biblical texts explores the "family violence" passages in Deuteronomy, tracing their ancient interpretation and assessing their contemporary significance. Three laws in Deuteronomy command violence against a family member--the enemy in the household--who leads others away from covenantal obligations to God. This book examines such "constructive" violence carried out to protect the covenant community by investigating the reading practices of ancient Jewish and Christian interpreters of Scripture and their applications of these passages. It also helps modern readers approach biblical texts that command violence in the family, providing a model for the ethical interpretation of these difficult texts.

Reports of Committees

16th Congress, 1st Session - 49th Congress, 1st Session

Author: United States. Congress. House

Publisher: N.A

ISBN: N.A

Category: United States

Page: N.A

View: 3838

DOWNLOAD →

The Enemy in Contemporary Film

Author: Martin Löschnigg,Marzena Sokołowska-Paryż

Publisher: Walter de Gruyter GmbH & Co KG

ISBN: 3110591219

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 420

View: 3090

DOWNLOAD →

While filmic representations of ‘enemies’ are legion, film studies have so far neglected the way in which filmic mediations of enemy images have contributed to shaping cultural memories. The present volume investigates the (de)(re)constructions of enemy images in international film since the 1970s. The three parts deal with (re)configurations of the enemy in contemporary global cinemas, analysing films on the two world wars, on regional military conflicts, ethnic, racial and gender conflicts, socio-political conflicts and forms of terrorism. The essays concentrate on film aesthetics and contemporary (geo)politics, on filmic renderings of identity crises caused by troubled national pasts, and on the way films explore the collective psychological mechanisms at play in the construction, perpetuation or problematizing of enemy images. The volume aims to show how in spite of the diversity of national cinemas, moving images are constitutive of national collectivities by rendering conflicts involving an external or internal enemy as the defining points in national or communal histories. It also points out how the dynamics of internalism and exteriority (of ‘we’ and ‘they’) has proved vital in this process.

The Season of the Hyaena (Akhenaten Trilogy, Book 2)

A twisting novel of intrigue, corruption and secrets

Author: Paul Doherty

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 0755350448

Category: Fiction

Page: 326

View: 4375

DOWNLOAD →

A mysterious stranger appears in the Nile Delta - has the Emperor Akhaten returned to Egypt? Capturing Ancient Egypt in all its beauty and brutality, Paul Doherty's powerful novel, The Season of the Hyaena, brilliantly evokes the atmosphere of the hyaena world, in which the ally standing beside you at one moment may turn the next. Perfect for fans of Christian Jacqs and Wilbur Smith. 'An opulent banquet to satisfy the most murderous appetite' - Northern Echo Mahu, former Chief of Police and Keeper of the Secrets of the Heart is sitting down to record his memories. He sees uneasy quiet reigning in the Royal Circle at Thebes, after the disappearance of the Pharaoh Akenhaten and the abandonment of his new, sun-worshipping religion. Members of different factions are barely held together by loyalty to the six-year-old Emperor, Tutankhamun. Then extraordinary news reaches the Council: Akenhaten has returned to Egypt. The words are greeted with dismay by all who hear them, for surely Akenhaten is dead? Mahu can certainly vouch that the woman claiming to be the Emperor's wife, Nefertiti, is a fraud. Whoever the man is who has appeared in the Delta, he must be investigated. What readers are saying about Paul Doherty: 'Without a shadow of a doubt: 5 stars for the The Season of the Hyaena' 'The sounds and smells of the period seem to waft from the pages of [Paul Doherty's] books' 'Doherty again manages to tell the story in a fascinating manner... [you] fly over the pages'

The Canterbury Tales

A Retelling by Peter Ackroyd (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

Author: Geoffrey Chaucer

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101466006

Category: Fiction

Page: 464

View: 8214

DOWNLOAD →

David Wright's prose version of Chaucer's classic.