Wonders of the Invisible World

" --Scott Westerfeld, New York Times bestselling author of Zeroes "The unpredictability of curses, magic, and love are inexorably entwined in this gracefully written story.

Author: Christopher Barzak

Publisher: Ember

ISBN: 9780385392822

Category: Blessing and cursing

Page: 339

View: 506

Download →

For fans of Patrick Ness and Tom McNeal comes a page-turning novel that's part ghost story, part love story. Aidan Lockwood lives in a sleepy farming community known for its cattle ranches and not much else. That is, until Jarrod, a friend he hasn't seen in years, moves back to town. It's Jarrod who opens Aidan's eyes to events he's long since forgotten, and who awakes in him feelings that go beyond mere friendship. But as Aidan's memories return, so do some unsettling truths about his family. As Aidan begins to probe into long-buried secrets, the lines between the past and the present, tales and truths, friends and lovers begin to blur, and Aidan will need to confront a family curse before he can lay claim to his life once more. "Brilliant storytelling that unearths new intersections of love and magic." --Scott Westerfeld, New York Times bestselling author of Zeroes "The unpredictability of curses, magic, and love are inexorably entwined in this gracefully written story." --Publishers Weekly, starred review "A captivating exploration of the power of place, family, memory, and time itself." --Kirkus Reviews "Barzak expertly balances magical realism, historical flashbacks, and contemporary teen romance in Aidan's journey of self-discovery." --Booklist
Posted in:

Map of the Invisible World

A follow-up by the Whitbread First Novel-winning author of The Harmony Silk finds 16-year-old Adam repeatedly abandoned by his caregivers in the wake of Holland's repatriation activities, a series of personal tragedies that mark his efforts ...

Author: Tash Aw

Publisher:

ISBN: 9780385527972

Category: Fiction

Page: 317

View: 111

Download →

A follow-up by the Whitbread First Novel-winning author of The Harmony Silk finds 16-year-old Adam repeatedly abandoned by his caregivers in the wake of Holland's repatriation activities, a series of personal tragedies that mark his efforts to find his adoptive father.
Posted in:

The Wonders of the Invisible World

A remarkable debut collection of short fiction by the critically acclaimed author of Jernigan and Preston Falls includes the title story, "Star Baby," "The Crazy Thought," and "The Mail Lady," in which a stroke victim struggles to find a ...

Author: David Gates

Publisher: Vintage Books

ISBN: 0679756442

Category: Fiction

Page: 257

View: 763

Download →

A remarkable debut collection of short fiction by the critically acclaimed author of Jernigan and Preston Falls includes the title story, "Star Baby," "The Crazy Thought," and "The Mail Lady," in which a stroke victim struggles to find a balance between his still-vital mind and a broken body. Reprint. 17,500 first printing.
Posted in:

Mirror of the Invisible World

In this volume three stories from Persian poem the Khamseh - "Khosrow and Shirin," "Layla and Majnum," and "The Seven Princesses" - have been told with abridgement in prose.

Author: Peter J. Chelkowski

Publisher: Metropolitan Museum of Art

ISBN: 9780870991424

Category: Fiction

Page: 117

View: 672

Download →

Posted in:

The Wonders of the Invisible World

The two very rare works reprinted in the present volume, written by two of the most celebrated of the early American divines, relate to one of the most extraordinary cases of popular delusion that modern times have witnessed.

Author: Cotton Mather Cotton Mather Increase Mather

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

ISBN: 1515167534

Category:

Page: 196

View: 393

Download →

The two very rare works reprinted in the present volume, written by two of the most celebrated of the early American divines, relate to one of the most extraordinary cases of popular delusion that modern times have witnessed. It was a delusion, moreover, to which men of learning and piety lent themselves, and thus became the means of increasing it. The scene of this affair was the puritanical colony of New England, since better known as Massachusetts, the colonists of which appear to have carried with them, in an exaggerated form, the superstitious feelings with regard to witchcraft which then prevailed in the mother country. In the spring of 1692 an alarm of witchcraft was raised in the family of the minister of Salem, and some black servants were charged with the supposed crime. Once started, the alarm spread rapidly, and in a very short time a great number of people fell under suspicion, and many were thrown into prison on very frivolous grounds, supported, as such charges usually were, by very unworthy witnesses. The new governor of the colony, Sir William Phipps, arrived from England in the middle of May, and he seems to have been carried away by the excitement, and authorized judicial prosecutions. The trials began at the commencement of June; and the first victim, a woman named Bridget Bishop, was hanged. Governor Phipps, embarrassed by this extraordinary state of things, called in the assistance of the clergy of Boston. There was at this time in Boston a distinguished family of puritanical ministers of the name of Mather. Richard Mather, an English non-conformist divine, had emigrated to America in 1636, and settled at Dorchester, where, in 1639, he had a son born, who was named, in accordance with the peculiar nomenclature of the puritans, Increase Mather...
Posted in:

The Invisible World is in Decline

?Whiteman collects his continuing philosophical, erotic, and highly personal prose poem in one volume.

Author: Bruce Whiteman

Publisher: E C W Press

ISBN: STANFORD:36105123149820

Category: Poetry

Page: 218

View: 694

Download →

?Whiteman collects his continuing philosophical, erotic, and highly personal prose poem in one volume.
Posted in:

The Invisible World

The author of A Travel Guide to Heaven draws on scripturally sound teachings to explain how readers can connect with the spiritual dimension surrounding everyday life in order to achieve profound inner peace.

Author: Anthony DeStefano

Publisher: Doubleday Religion

ISBN: 9780385522236

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 206

View: 688

Download →

The author of A Travel Guide to Heaven draws on scripturally sound teachings to explain how readers can connect with the spiritual dimension surrounding everyday life in order to achieve profound inner peace.
Posted in:

The Osage and the Invisible World

In this book, Garrick A. Bailey brings together in a clear, understandable way La Flesche’s data for two important Osage religious ceremonies--the "Songs of Wa-xo’-be," an initiation into a clan priesthood, and the Rite of the Chiefs, ...

Author: Francis La Flesche

Publisher: University of Oklahoma Press

ISBN: 0806131322

Category: Social Science

Page: 344

View: 806

Download →

Francis La Flesche (1857-1932), Omaha Indian and anthropologist with the Bureau of American Ethnology, published an enormous body of work on the religion of the Osage Indians, all gathered from the most knowledgeable Osage religious leaders of their day. Yet his writings have been largely overlooked because they were published piecemeal over the course of twenty-five years and never adequately collected or analyzed. In this book, Garrick A. Bailey brings together in a clear, understandable way La Flesche’s data for two important Osage religious ceremonies--the "Songs of Wa-xo’-be," an initiation into a clan priesthood, and the Rite of the Chiefs, an initiation into a tribal priesthood. To put La Flesche’s work into perspective, Bailey offers a short biography of this prolific Native American scholar and an overview of traditional Osage religious beliefs and practices.
Posted in:

News from the Invisible World

While blacksmith Meg and her finacâe move into their new house in Caerphilly, Virginia, Meg's father discovers a corpse in the basement while digging a pool for penguins fostered from the bankrupt local zoo, whose keeper is missing.

Author: John Tregortha

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HNNLIK

Category: Apparitions

Page: 451

View: 299

Download →

While blacksmith Meg and her finacâe move into their new house in Caerphilly, Virginia, Meg's father discovers a corpse in the basement while digging a pool for penguins fostered from the bankrupt local zoo, whose keeper is missing.
Posted in: