When Father Kills Mother

In contrast , their friend Nancy loses both parents when her mother poisons her father and is imprisoned . Nancy lives with her father's family , who cannot ...

Author: Jean Harris Hendriks

Publisher: Psychology Press

ISBN: 0415196272

Category: Psychology

Page: 281

View: 771

Download →

Brings to public knowledge information about the effects of psychological trauma and bereavement on children.
Posted in:

Mother s father s and Child s Annuity

Chapter 20 — When A Mother's / Father's Annuity Ends A mother's / father's annuity ends in the month the only qualifying child : • Dies ; or • Marries .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112105124728

Category: Government publications

Page: 38

View: 259

Download →

Posted in:

Earth is My Mother Sky is My Father

SKY IS MY FATHER SPACE , TIME , AND ASTRONOMY IN NAVAJO SANDPAINTING Trudy Griffin - Pierce Foreword by N. Scott Momaday EARTH IS MY MOTHER SKY IS MY FATHER ...

Author: Trudy Griffin-Pierce

Publisher: UNM Press

ISBN: 0826316344

Category: History

Page: 236

View: 695

Download →

Explores the circularity of Navajo thought through studies of sandpaintings, chantway myths, and stories reflected in the constellations.
Posted in:

The House of the Mother

Forget your people and the house of your father. ... his older brother's blessing from his blind father, his mother and coconspirator informed him that Esau ...

Author: Cynthia R. Chapman

Publisher: Yale University Press

ISBN: 9780300197945

Category: Bible

Page: 336

View: 328

Download →

This work reevaluates the biblical house of the father in light of the anthropological critique of the patrilineal model. It uncovers and defines the contours of an underappreciated yet socially significant kinship unit in the Bible: 'the house of the mother.'
Posted in:

Mother s Assistant and Young Lady s Friend

The woman was formed only as a help - mate to Adam ; and such is the mother to the father in the management of children . The facts that she is peculiarly ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951P009525456

Category:

Page:

View: 852

Download →

Posted in:

Leaving the Mother

In a different way the love of the Symbolic father cannot represent ... from its potentially crippling dependence on the mother , and allow it to gain a ...

Author: Beth Jensen

Publisher: Fairleigh Dickinson Univ Press

ISBN: 0838639143

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 140

View: 249

Download →

"Leaving the M/other develops a striking parallel between Whitman's poetry and Kristeva's theory with close readings of poems published from 1855 to 1881. At the root of the analysis is the metaphor of the ocean."--BOOK JACKET.
Posted in:

The Mother s Magazine and Family Circle

Have we not reason to believe that many a daughter will find a father among the saints on high , allured to the cross through her instrumentality .

Author: Abigail Goodrich Whittelsey

Publisher:

ISBN: CHI:34940155

Category:

Page:

View: 882

Download →

Posted in:

The Mother s Magazine

Honor thy father and thy mother , that thy days may be long upon the land which the Lord thy God giveth thee . ” Prov . i .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951002808641Z

Category:

Page:

View: 107

Download →

Posted in:

Representations of the Mother in Law in Literature Film Drama and Television

This happens after the son's father and mother are unsuccessful in dissuading him from marrying a blind girl. Initially, the father who had forced the ...

Author: Jo Parnell

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 9781498569071

Category: Social Science

Page: 232

View: 671

Download →

This collection discusses the depictions of mothers-in-law in popular culture and provides a different approach to the popularly-held views of mothers-in-law.
Posted in:

Working Mother

Custody ofTwo Ci£ „ ren Working mother wins cui gourt rules against former stay-at-home father in battle for girls Family Law HER BRUISING CUSTODY BATTLE ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 116

View: 204

Download →

The magazine that helps career moms balance their personal and professional lives.
Posted in:

The Mother s Promise

He shook her father's hand and this time the connection worked out. ... According to her grandma—his own mother—her father had always been aloof, ...

Author: Sally Hepworth

Publisher: St. Martin's Press

ISBN: 9781466889927

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 355

Download →

A poignant and breathtaking novel from the author of The Things We Keep and The Secrets of Midwives. All their lives, Alice Stanhope and her daughter, Zoe, have been a family of two, living quietly in Northern California. Zoe has always struggled with crippling social anxiety and her mother has been her constant and fierce protector. With no family to speak of, and the identity of Zoe’s father shrouded in mystery, their team of two works—until it doesn’t. Until Alice gets sick and needs to fight for her life. Desperate to find stability for Zoe, Alice reaches out to two women who are practically strangers but who are her only hope: Kate, a nurse, and Sonja, a social worker. As the four of them come together, a chain of events is set into motion and all four of them must confront their sharpest fears and secrets—secrets about abandonment, abuse, estrangement, and the deepest longing for family. Imbued with heart and humor in even the most dismal moments, The Mother’s Promise is an unforgettable novel about the unbreakable bonds between mothers and daughters and the new ways in which families are forged. Sally Hepworth novels are "sure to appeal to fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult, and Lisa Genova; book clubs will be lining up." —Library Journal (starred review)
Posted in:

Montague Newburgh or the Mother and Son etc

“ Where do your father and mother live ? " inquired Montague . “ Mother's dead , your honour , but father's only stepped up to the parson's after a ...

Author: Alicia Catherine Mant

Publisher:

ISBN: BL:A0024023885

Category:

Page:

View: 546

Download →

Posted in:

PREGNANCY GOOD HEALTH FOR MOTHER BABY AND DAD

Chapter 8: focuses on Labour and delivery; it looks at what the mother, father and family should do in planning for delivery. It also hints on mother's ...

Author: JOSEPH A AWOYEMI

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9781471625480

Category:

Page:

View: 857

Download →

Posted in:

Letters from My Dad and Reflections of My Mother

they tell their children about their dad and the sweet memories of your life lives on. My brothers went on having families of their own: Fred, ...

Author: Beresford K. Samuels

Publisher: Page Publishing Inc

ISBN: 9781640276574

Category: Fiction

Page: 378

View: 455

Download →

Book Delisted
Posted in:

The Modern Dad s Dilemma

And, echoing my best friend, who happens to be a single dad, my mother also “taught me to be tough, to stick through things that are hard.

Author: John Badalament

Publisher: New World Library

ISBN: 9781577316602

Category: Family & Relationships

Page: 239

View: 229

Download →

Illustrated with the real-life stories of a diverse group of fathers--from a truck driver to an NFL player, from a stay-at-home dad to Lorne Michaels, the producer of Saturday Night Live--this guide helps dads sort through their own father's legacy, communicate with their kids, nurture a relationship with their children's mother, and balance work and family life. Original.
Posted in:

The Mother s Legacy in Early Modern England

Multiply obligated as a mother, a wife, and a widow, Halkett is compelled to instruct her son. She also informs Robert: “it was the last command your father ...

Author: Ms Jennifer Heller

Publisher: Ashgate Publishing, Ltd.

ISBN: 9781409478713

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 244

View: 594

Download →

Using printed and manuscript texts composed between 1575 and 1672, Jennifer Heller defines the genre of the mother's legacy as a distinct branch of the advice tradition in early modern England that takes the form of a dying mother's pious counsel to her children. Reading these texts in light of specific cultural contexts, social trends, and historical events, Heller explores how legacy writers used the genre to secure personal and family status, to shape their children's beliefs and behaviors, and to intervene in the period's tumultuous religious and political debates. The author's attention to the fine details of the period's religious and political swings, drawn from sources such as royal proclamations, sermons, and first-hand accounts of book-burnings, creates a fuller context for her analysis of the legacies. Similarly, Heller explains the appeal of the genre by connecting it to social factors including mortality rates and inheritance practices. Analyses of related genres, such as conduct books and fathers' legacies, highlight the unique features and functions of mothers' legacies. Heller also attends to the personal side of the genre, demonstrating that a writer's education, marriages, children, and turns of fortune affect her work within the genre.
Posted in: