Thrill Ride

"Let's go pop this disk in the system." Upstairs in my room, Joe dug into the pizza while I stuck "Thrill Ride" into my gaming system. A video of a roller coaster came onto the TV screen. People screamed as they turned upside down on a ...

Author: Franklin W. Dixon

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781442446533

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 160

View: 805

Download →

ATAC Briefing For Agents Frank and Joe Hardy Mission: Investigate a woman's death and other mysterious events surrounding Uncle Bernie's Fun Park. Location: Uncle Bernie's Fun Park, MA. Potential Victims: All Fun Park patrons. Suspects: Disgruntled employees. Unhappy customers. Enemies of Bernie. This Mission Requires Your Immediate Attention. This Message Will Be Erased In Five Seconds.
Posted in:

Thrill Ride

on the Knights' faces varying from concern to amusement to consternation. “Aversion therapy,” she said by way of explanation. “My personal defense instructor says I need to...um...grow a pair of balls.” She bit her lip.

Author: Julie Ann Walker

Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc.

ISBN: 9781402282706

Category: Fiction

Page: 352

View: 595

Download →

A New York Times and USA Today Bestseller! "A first-rate thrill ride."—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review HE'S GONE ROGUE Ex-navy SEAL Rock Babineaux is as Cajun as they come—spicy, sexy, and more than a bit wicked. But would he actually betray his country? Even his best friends on the special-ops Black Knights team aren't sure they can trust him. Now the target of a massive manhunt, Rock knows the only way to protect the team—especially his partner, Vanessa—is to run... SHE WON'T BACK DOWN Rock might think he can outmaneuver them all, but he hasn't counted on how stubborn Vanessa Cordero can be. And she refuses to cut him loose. Sure, her partner has his secrets, but there's no one in the world she'd rather have by her side in a tight spot. Which is good because she and Rock are about to get very tight... Black Knights Inc. Series Hell on Wheels (Book 1) In Rides Trouble (Book 2) Rev It Up (Book 3) Thrill Ride (Book 4) Born Wild (Book 5) Hell for Leather (Book 6) Full Throttle (Book 7) Too Hard to Handle (Book 8) Wild Ride (Book 9 — coming April 2017!) Praise for Black Knights Inc. Series: "Julie Ann Walker is one of those authors to be put on a keeper shelf along with Nora Roberts, Suzanne Brockmann, and Allison Brennan."—Kirkus
Posted in:

Thrill Ride

shown him a video of the amusement park that my dad had ordered for me. My dad is really into watching the Travel Channel, so he was the one who discovered Thrill Ride! and told me about it. It sounded like it would be an awesome ...

Author: Rachel Hawthorne

Publisher: Harper Collins

ISBN: 9780061757280

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 320

View: 833

Download →

From the author of Labor of Love and The Boyfriend League comes another novel of fun, friends, boys, and summer, perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Barnholdt, and Susane Colasanti. Megan Holloway has found the perfect summer job working at Thrill Ride amusement park on Lake Erie. She’ll get to be on her own—in a dormitory with the other park employees—and play by her own rules. The only bad part is that her dreamy new boyfriend has to stay back home in Texas. But they can survive three months apart, right? And Megan can resist Parker, her incredibly hot coworker . . . right?
Posted in:

Thrill Ride

For another , the only rides I feel safe on at Playland are the kiddie rides , which you can't be caught dead on when you're my age . And then they've got this monster roller coaster“ Stu , stop teasing . " " I'm not teasing .

Author: Eric Weiner

Publisher: Berkley

ISBN: 0425149854

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 122

View: 445

Download →

Tagging along when a gang of older kids sneaks into Playland amusement park, Annie is delighted when they get the huge roller coaster to work, but she becomes terrified when it stops upside-down at the top of the highest loop.
Posted in:

Western Pennsylvania s Lost Amusement Parks

The Speed-O-Plane roller coaster and penny arcade can be seen in the background. (Courtesy of Northland Public Library.) West View's first major thrill rides were the Mystic Chute and figure eight roller coaster.

Author: Rachel E. Smith

Publisher: Arcadia Publishing

ISBN: 9781467104654

Category: History

Page: 128

View: 495

Download →

At one time, Western Pennsylvania was home to dozens of small amusement parks, many of them trolley parks. These parks, originally designed to bolster streetcar business, were a way for workers to seek respite from the crowded, dirty cities. While some of these parks never developed into much more than a dance hall and a merry-go-round, others became full-scale amusement parks with rides, entertainment, and other amusements. After years of battling floods, changing economies, the decline of streetcars, and competition from other amusement parks, many of these amusement parks ended up closing their gates for good, the thrills they once provided now relegated to memories. With many of these parks all but lost to time, it is time to take a look back and remember some of the most prominent lost amusement parks of Western Pennsylvania.
Posted in:

Walt Disney World and Orlando For Dummies 2006

Thrill. Rides. If you're a speed freak who lives for the ups and downs of a good ride, here are the top stomach churners ... Rock 'n Roller Coaster (Disney–MGM Studios): You launch from 0 to 60 mph in 2.8 seconds and go right into the ...

Author: Laura Lea Miller

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 9780471782506

Category: Travel

Page: 382

View: 974

Download →

If you want to escape to a world full of fun and fantasy, head for Walt Disney World & Orlando. The area is the No. 1 family vacation destination in the U.S., and this guide will show you hundreds of reasons why. Whether you’re taking your kids or grandkids or treating your “inner child”, you’ll find tons to see and do. You can count a shark’s teeth up close or swim with a dolphin. Tour some of the world’s most unique countries at Epcot or the Haunted Mansion at the Magic Kingdom. Strap in for stomach-churning rides or take in great shows. You can check out incredible marine life, exotic wild life, or Orlando’s exciting night life. This friendly guide clues you in to must-see attractions, the best deals, great shopping options, and more. It gives you the scoop on: Walt Disney World, including The Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Disney-MGM Studios, Animal Kingdom, and more Other terrific theme parks, including Universal Studios Florida, Islands of Adventure, SeaWorld and Discovery Cove, and more The best daring thrill rides, including The Amazing Adventures of Spider-Man, Dueling Dragons twin roller coasters, Jurassic Park River Adventure, and the Tower of Terror Tamer rides and attractions, such as Pirates of the Caribbean, Indiana Jones Epic Stunt Spectacular, Shrek 4-D, and Kilimanjaro Safari Great shows, parades, fireworks displays, and more Like every For Dummies travel guide, Walt Disney World & Orlando For Dummies 2006 includes: Down-to-earth trip-planning advice What you shouldn’t miss — and what you can skip The best hotels and restaurants for every budget Handy Post-it® Flags to mark your favorite pages
Posted in:

Library of Congress Subject Headings

UF Ride films Former heading ) Ride movies Thrill ride films BT Motion pictures Amusement ride industry USE Amusement ride equipment industry Amusement ride owners ( May Subd Geog ) BT Persons NT Women amusement ride owners Amusement ...

Author: Library of Congress

Publisher:

ISBN: OSU:32435078789948

Category: Subject headings, Library of Congress

Page:

View: 720

Download →

Posted in:

Using Math to Design a Roller Coaster

We use math when we play games , ride bicycles , or go shopping , and everyone uses math at work . Imagine you have been hired to design and build a roller coaster ! You may not realize it , but engineers use math for everything from ...

Author: Hilary Koll

Publisher: Gareth Stevens Publishing LLLP

ISBN: 0836867661

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 32

View: 142

Download →

Explains how math skills are needed to inspect structures for safety and includes math activities using real-life data and facts about roller coasters.
Posted in:

Electric Dreamland

Amusement Parks, Movies, and American Modernity Lauren Rabinovitz ... 28 In contrast, as cultural analyst Tony Bennett points out, the thrill ride “addresses—indeed assaults—the body, suspending the physical laws that normally restrict ...

Author: Lauren Rabinovitz

Publisher: Columbia University Press

ISBN: 9780231527217

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 256

View: 752

Download →

Amusement parks were the playgrounds of the working class in the early twentieth century, combining numerous, mechanically-based spectacles into one unique, modern cultural phenomenon. Lauren Rabinovitz describes the urban modernity engendered by these parks and their media, encouraging ordinary individuals to sense, interpret, and embody a burgeoning national identity. As industrialization, urbanization, and immigration upended society, amusement parks tempered the shocks of racial, ethnic, and cultural conflict while shrinking the distinctions between gender and class. Following the rise of American parks from 1896 to 1918, Rabinovitz seizes on a simultaneous increase in cinema and spectacle audiences and connects both to the success of leisure activities in stabilizing society. Critics of the time often condemned parks and movies for inciting moral decline, yet in fact they fostered women's independence, racial uplift, and assimilation. The rhythmic, mechanical movements of spectacle also conditioned audiences to process multiple stimuli. Featuring illustrations from private collections and accounts from unaccessed archives, Electric Dreamland joins film and historical analyses in a rare portrait of mass entertainment and the modern eye.
Posted in:

The Unofficial Guide to Mall of America

Two cars on each arm rotate over each other at various speeds while the arms spin. This one will make your stomach drop. Motion sickness is possible. Pepsi Orange Streak What it is Steel roller coaster. Height requirement 47" (or ...

Author: Beth Blair

Publisher: Unofficial Guides

ISBN: 9781628090352

Category: Travel

Page: 224

View: 656

Download →

The Unofficial Guide to Mall of America is the first of its kind. Never before has a guidebook been written about the Mall of America. The Unofficial Guide to Mall of America enhances visitors' experiences by assisting them through the entire process, from finding the right hotel and making the decision whether or not to rent a car or use the hotel shuttle. The various attractions are laid out and analyzed so that Mall of America-goers can decide what activities will enhance their experiences and which are simply tourist traps. In addition to ranking and describing the stores and restaurants, The Unofficial Guide to Mall of America, by Beth Blair, offers insight and tips that will make the visit fun for those looking for a general Mall of America experience but also highlight things for people with special interests.
Posted in: