The Worm Ouroboros Fantasy Classic

The King took wax and a taper from the great gold ink-stand, and sealed the warrant with the ruby head of the worm Ouroboros, saying, “The ruby, most comfortable to the heart, brain, vigour, and.

Author: E. R. Eddison

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN: EAN:4057664559432

Category: Fiction

Page: 424

View: 372

Download →

This eBook edition has been formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices. King Gorice of Witchland and the Lords of Demonland in an imaginary world of Mercury The Worm Ouroboros is a heroic high fantasy novel which describes the protracted war between the domineering, The story begins with a dwarf ambassador from Witchland arriving in Demonland to demand that the chief lords of Demonland — the brothers Juss, Spitfire, and Goldry Bluszco, and their cousin Brandoch Daha — recognize King Gorice XI of Witchland as their overlord. Juss and his brothers reply that they and all of Demonland will submit if the king (a famous wrestler) can defeat Goldry Bluszco in a wrestling match. The match is held in the neutral territory of the Foliot Isles, and Gorice is killed. His successor (or reincarnation) Gorice XII is a sorcerer who banishes Goldry to an enchanted mountain prison, by means of a perilous sorcery requiring the help of the devious Goblin traitor Lord Gro. Juss and Brandoch Daha start an expedition to rescue Goldry Bluszco from his terrible prison which leads to a great war.
Posted in:

The Worm Ouroboros

The King took wax and a taper from the great gold ink-stand, and sealed the warrant with the ruby head of the worm Ouroboros, saying, “The ruby, most comfortable to the heart, brain, vigour, and.

Author: E. R. Eddison

Publisher: e-artnow

ISBN: EAN:4057664097606

Category: Fiction

Page: 424

View: 942

Download →

King Gorice of Witchland and the Lords of Demonland in an imaginary world of Mercury The Worm Ouroboros is a heroic high fantasy novel which describes the protracted war between the domineering, The story begins with a dwarf ambassador from Witchland arriving in Demonland to demand that the chief lords of Demonland — the brothers Juss, Spitfire, and Goldry Bluszco, and their cousin Brandoch Daha — recognize King Gorice XI of Witchland as their overlord. Juss and his brothers reply that they and all of Demonland will submit if the king (a famous wrestler) can defeat Goldry Bluszco in a wrestling match. The match is held in the neutral territory of the Foliot Isles, and Gorice is killed. His successor (or reincarnation) Gorice XII is a sorcerer who banishes Goldry to an enchanted mountain prison, by means of a perilous sorcery requiring the help of the devious Goblin traitor Lord Gro. Juss and Brandoch Daha start an expedition to rescue Goldry Bluszco from his terrible prison which leads to a great war.
Posted in:

The Worm Ouroboros The Prelude to Zimiamvia

The prose of The Worm Ouroboros resembles nothing written since the seventeenth century. Itisas elaborate asSir Thomas Browne's, butfarmore flexible and various. Rich, repetitious (sometimes too much so), ornate, it cangleam with ...

Author: E. R. Eddison

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 9780007578122

Category: Fiction

Page: 496

View: 316

Download →

The lost classic masterpiece of magical realms, admired by Tolkien and the great prototype for The Lord of the Rings and modern fantasy fiction.
Posted in:

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Science Fiction and Fantasy

1350 The Worm Ouroboros by E.R. Eddison ( 1922 ) Sherrie A. Inness . Tough Girls . Philadelphia : University of Pennsylvania Press , 1999 . William Moulton Marston . “ Why 100,000,000 Americans Read Comics .

Author: Gary Westfahl

Publisher: Greenwood Publishing Group

ISBN: 0313329532

Category: Fantasy fiction, American

Page: 1395

View: 924

Download →

A comprehensive three-volume reference work offers six hundred entries, with the first two volumes covering themes and the third volume exploring two hundred classic works in literature, television, and film.
Posted in:

The Worm Ouroboros

The novel's events are set in an imaginary world that appears mainly medieval—an excellent read for fans of Tolkien and Robin Hood stories.

Author: Eric Rücker Eddison

Publisher: Good Press

ISBN: EAN:4064066403263

Category: Fiction

Page: 411

View: 386

Download →

"The Worm Ouroboros" by Eric Rücker Eddison. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.
Posted in:

HSA Books and Manuscripts Dallas Auction Catalog 682

WORM MBOROS THE WORM OUROBOROS EDDISON HENDERSON பெயர் Watership A novel by Richard Adams BY E. R. EDDISON ILLUSTRATED BY KEITH HENDERSON THAN CAPE MENWELLS * CHURCH STREET WHITCHURCH HANTS ROTAX Dear Mr. Troadow , 275h waren ...

Author: Sandra Palomino

Publisher: Heritage Capital Corporation

ISBN: 1599672170

Category:

Page:

View: 701

Download →

Posted in:

A Companion to J R R Tolkien

At the end of 1942, Lewis had found Eddison's 1922 romance The Worm Ouroboros mentioned in a survey book on the novel (Eddison scholar Paul Edmund Thomas has recently identified this as Haines 1942, 203–205.) ...

Author: Stuart D. Lee

Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

ISBN: 9781119656029

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 608

View: 636

Download →

This is a complete resource for scholars and students of Tolkien, as well as avid fans, with coverage of his life, work, dominant themes, influences, and the critical reaction to his writing. An in-depth examination of Tolkien’s entire work by a cadre of top scholars Provides up-to-date discussion and analysis of Tolkien’s scholarly and literary works, including his latest posthumous book, The Fall of Arthur, as well as addressing contemporary adaptations, including the new Hobbit films Investigates various themes across his body of work, such as mythmaking, medieval languages, nature, war, religion, and the defeat of evil Discusses the impact of his work on art, film, music, gaming, and subsequent generations of fantasy writers
Posted in:

Essential Novelists Eric R cker Eddison

His notable works include The Worm Ouroboros (1922) and the Zimiamvian Trilogy (1935–1958). Born in Adel, Leeds, Eddison's early education came from a series of private tutors, whom he shared with the young Arthur Ransome.

Author: Eric Rücker Eddison

Publisher: Tacet Books

ISBN: 9783967995909

Category: Fiction

Page: 530

View: 959

Download →

Welcome to the Essential Novelists book series, were we present to you the best works of remarkable authors.For this book, the literary critic August Nemo has chosen the two most important and meaningful novels of Eric Rücker Eddisonwich areThe Worm and Mistress of Mistresses. Eddison's books are written in a meticulously recreated Jacobean prose style, seeded throughout with fragments, often acknowledged but often directly copied from his favorite authors and genres: Homer and Sappho, Shakespeare and Webster, Norse sagas and French medieval lyric poems. Critic Andy Sawyer has noted that such fragments seem to arise naturally from the "barbarically sophisticated" worlds Eddison has created. Novels selected for this book: - The Worm. - Mistress of Mistresses.This is one of many books in the series Essential Novelists. If you liked this book, look for the other titles in the series, we are sure you will like some of the authors.
Posted in:

Mistress of Mistresses

His characters are thus eloquent but longwinded; they speak not of killing a man, but of 'sending him from the shade into the house of darkness' [The Worm Ouroboros]. In his finest moments, Eddison ascends to a sustained poetic beauty; ...

Author: E. R. Eddison

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781473212091

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 636

Download →

Edward Lessingham of England is dead, the last chapter of his extraordinary life written. Edward Lessingham of Zimiamvia is alive: now Lord Lessingham, cousin to the villainous Vicar of Rerek, scourge of King Mezentius in that fabled land. But the king is dead and his passing has left a dangerous power vacuum and the fate of the three kingdoms in the balance. Lord Lessingham makes valiant attempts to bring peace to the land but is stalled by the vicar's treachery and the strange ties that bind him to his cousin. Ties that may yet lead to bloody conflict in the three kingdoms . . .
Posted in:

The Fantastic Horizon

So I finally finished reading E. R. Eddison's classic fantasy novel, The Worm Ouroboros (1926). It took almost thirty years to do so. The last time I tried reading it, I found it a bit tough going, though enjoyed what I read.

Author: Darrell Schweitzer

Publisher: Wildside Press LLC

ISBN: 9781434403209

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 240

View: 700

Download →

In this new collection of his nonfiction, well-known critic and novelist Darrell Schweitzer writes about The Lord of the Rings, Neil Gaiman, E. R. Eddison, the Three Stooges, H. P. Lovecraft, Lord Dunsany, Arthur C. Clarke, Robert Nathan, alternate histories, the culture of bookselling, and many others. "The finest kind of criticism--knowledgeable, witty, and highly accessible"--Robert Reginald
Posted in: